We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location with Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb location with Good Price”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is one of the best hotel that offers good value accommodation. Good breakfast. It is clean. The staffs were nice as well. We stayed for 5 nights and have to say that we satisfied and would definitely return if we come around the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanieang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review we hope to see you again next time you visit
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    451
    164
    53
    27
See reviews for
174
314
74
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Great location, clean, tidy, modern comfortable room for money, accommodating, helpful staff!

Chaotic breakfast (short staffed) parking a problem if booking in on a match day , if not lucky like me for a change!

Definitely stay again! For the price, standard of room, and location, you can't go wrong! 10 minutes to Grey Street / centre/ Chinatown 5 minutes walk / Quayside 10 minutes / metro a short stroll!

Try!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Oatcake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Oatcake1,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I'm sorry to hear breakfast was chaotic.I hope this wont put you off visiting our hotel again.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked last minute for a Christmas night out in newcastle. Car parking is right next to the hotel and is free from 5pm - 8am , then 80p per hour or £5 per day. Check in was fast and easy. Twin room had comfortable beds and pillows and the shower was fine. Breakfast was turn up and help yourself. Sausage scrambled eggs and beans or continental. All staff were friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westbub59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Westbub59,

Thank you for taking the time over this busy festive period to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Happy New Year.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express. I normally stay in Jury's however my sister had booked Jurys.
The staff where incredibley friendly at reception, in fact as it was Children's in Need they where all wearing onesies which was funny.
We had a tiny twin room, but it was perfect for our needs. It was a little cold but we soon warmed up once we learned how to use the heating system.
My only niggle about the Holiday Inn was that the breakfast area is a little cramped and a bit of a pain trying to get your grub.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Katrina,

Thanks for taking the time over this busy time of year to write a review on our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am glad you found the onsies funny as all the staff here loved dressing u in them!

We hope you will stay with us again when you visit the City.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have just recently returned home after spending last week managing a tour for Albion Soccer Club from San Diego.
I stayed 6 nights at this hotel, and can honestly say that the staff were excellent through out.
Nothing was to much bother, and all enquiries and questions were dealt with in a positive manner.
This was the first time the company had used this hotel, but will definately be back.
Hotel is ideally situated for all attractions and only a few minutes walk into the city.
Would just like to thank Andrew and the staff once again, for making the trip such a great success.

Robin wood
Excel International Sports.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M13WOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Mr Wood,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Thank you for your kind words of praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Merry Christmas from all the team at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre.


Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
326 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

On first impression the room was clean, but inspection of the bed revealed serious faults. Yes indeed the sheets had been laundered, but sadly retained what were obviously semen stains- pretty yucky and should have been thrown away . The mattress was ripped and the bed base very dusty. A cheap, thin, synthetic, hair-encrusted, plastic-backed mattress protector ensured that little sleep would happen, particularly as air-conditioning wasn't satisfactory and a heavy synthetic duvet raised the temperature. Add to this the constant mega-loud traffic noise and I wasn't very happy in the morning. Dirty grouting in the bathroom and toothpaste stains in the basin completed the room's less-than clean picture.
This hotel is in a convenient central location and staff are lovely, but whoever spends the money here, needs to upgrade standards, employ more house-keeping staff who can do their jobs properly, remove ancient torn mattresses, thoroughly inspect ALL linens and replace stained items. I am not a fanatic, but when I stay in a hotel I need to ensure that my bed is clean - this is a fundamental requirement and everything else pales by comparison. Oh yes- breakfast was adequate. I definitely won't stay here again, but the staff are delightful!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Tessie1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Its very to pleasing to hear the staff are lovely and delightful.

I am very sorry to hear you had some issues with the cleanliness of your bedroom during your stay and wondering if it would be possible for you to contact the hotel directly so we can rectify this problem.

On behalf of the team here at Newcastle we wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here a number of times. It is centrally located and excellent if you are going to the Arena, just a short walk away. Located nearby also Chinatown. This is a holiday inn express, and anyone who travels knows what their breakfasts are, so I am amazed at some reviews expecting something more. Also hotel is immaculate and staff friendly. There is a secure car park next to hotel which is only £5. Obviously depending upon the evening you go, it is a party city. However the hotel do realise this and all you have to do is when booking request a quiet room, they do have quiet floors where they put us all together. Excellent hotel, lovely staff, immaculate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, they will provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel at such a busy time of the year.

It always makes the staff and I very happy to hear we are lovely.We hope you will stay with us again when you visit our city.

On behalf of all the team here at Newcastle we wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Warmest Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing