We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pre uni visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pre uni visit”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very clean hotel - ideally placed for city centre and within walking distance of shops and bars. Staff very helpful and friendly and went out of their ways to offer directions and advice. Room was as expected, as was breakfast. Car parking very close and you can extend time by phone which is great if you dont want to trek to put a ticket on your car in your pj's. Would not hesitate to book again for further visits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaloo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lindaloo

Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others. I am glad that you found our hotel very clean and ideally placed for city centre and within walking distance of shops and bars. The staff will also be please to here you found them friendly and that they went out of their way to help you.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    462
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
181
322
75
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel within walking distance of the shops and the bars / clubs. Our room was spacious as it was a disabled room. Breakfast was great and plenty of time to get there. Had everything we needed and staff were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angharad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to write your review. Our disabled rooms are really spacious and a lot of guests request them specially. I am very pleased to here the hotel offered everything you needed and you found the staff to be great.
We hope to welcome you back to Newcastle very soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just back from a short break stay with family and yet again the service was second to none.....the staff were all so friendly everywhere so clean this has got to be one of the best holiday inn hotels in the country..well done to you all ..we will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear ann r,

Thanks for your recent review "Lovely stay once again" its always great too hear great feedback. We hope you will continue staying at our hotel here in Newcastle.

We look forward too seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a terrible experience with the clutch breaking,nowhere to stay we flagged down a taxi and arrived at the above.The staff on reception couldnt do enough to help us we were offered a tray of tea and biscuits and the use of the facilities.We booked into a room for the night.I have nothing but praise for this hotel.I am a member of the Doncaster Holiday Inn and have informed them of my stay at the above.I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone food was excellent also.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel you will be looked after very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear traveller2724,

Thank you for your recent lovely review.

We hope too see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, very good bar, excellent breakfast every morning and top of the range service by Derek the barman/breakfast cooker!
great location to travel around and experience newcastle.
Close to the train lines which is ideal!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Paulo2121,


Thank you for taking the time out your busy day to review our hotel here in Newcastle city centre.

Its always wonderful to hear such nice praise for the staff. I am also glad to hear the location was ideal for the train station we hope you return to our hotel on your next visit to Newcastle.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Best Wishes
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights where my mother and I were made very welcome. Every single member of staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful especially Kimberley whose warm personality shone out. Thanks to Doug and his team for making us feel special, we will be back if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Sharon R,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel here in Newcastle. I am especially pleased Kimberley and Doug made your stay that extra special and memorable. They will be thrilled to read such kind praise.

Myself and the team look forward to you visiting again in the near future.

Best wishes
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived sunday having booked with hotels.com we booked a wheelchair access room and the operator told us they had blue badge parking i repeatedly asked is this a wc room and was told yes he did not book us a wc access room but a normal double our son is an adult the hotel staff were wonderful changed our room and put up a sofa bed for our son . The room was clean and bright bed was very comfy no noise from outside. We slept very well. Breakfast was lovely . Hot and tasty,staff went out of their way to help When the power failed on our sons wheelchair staff found us a repair company not far away. From sunday to friday staff have been extremely kind friendly and helpful we would recommend to everyone especially those with mobility needs the bathroom was huge containing everything needed well done staff and holiday inn sue , mike and John mahoney

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverbird0158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Liverbird0158,

Thank you for your recent kind review. Please accept my apologies on behalf of Hotels.com for the mistake in your booking. I am very pleased to hear the staff at the hotel managed to resolve this issue.

We hope you will visit the team here at Newcastle again in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing