We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
550
510
180
55
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
510
180
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre car park next door train station free breakfast beans multi story car park sofa bed busy road excellent location st james park self service reception staff stag and hen parties budget hotel min walk yogurt checking in
Filter
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights where my mother and I were made very welcome. Every single member of staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful especially Kimberley whose warm personality shone out. Thanks to Doug and his team for making us feel special, we will be back if we visit the area again.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Sharon R,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel here in Newcastle. I am especially pleased Kimberley and Doug made your stay that extra special and memorable. They will be thrilled to read such kind praise.

Myself and the team look forward to you visiting again in the near future.

Best wishes
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived sunday having booked with hotels.com we booked a wheelchair access room and the operator told us they had blue badge parking i repeatedly asked is this a wc room and was told yes he did not book us a wc access room but a normal double our son is an adult the hotel staff were wonderful changed our room and put up a sofa bed for our son . The room was clean and bright bed was very comfy no noise from outside. We slept very well. Breakfast was lovely . Hot and tasty,staff went out of their way to help When the power failed on our sons wheelchair staff found us a repair company not far away. From sunday to friday staff have been extremely kind friendly and helpful we would recommend to everyone especially those with mobility needs the bathroom was huge containing everything needed well done staff and holiday inn sue , mike and John mahoney

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverbird0158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Liverbird0158,

Thank you for your recent kind review. Please accept my apologies on behalf of Hotels.com for the mistake in your booking. I am very pleased to hear the staff at the hotel managed to resolve this issue.

We hope you will visit the team here at Newcastle again in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived late at night after jetting into to the airport - no problem with checking in so late with plesant and friendly staff sorting out our rooms at about 11pm at night - able to enjoy a late couple of pints at bar and a few games of pool before bed as well.

Room tip: Good Central hotel at decent price
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeH135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the kind review. We look forward too seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I paid about £60 for a double room with breakfast so wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised.
The staff were all nice enough, and they were even polite with one particularly naughty drunken friend!
The rooms were basic but clean, a bit on the small side but not ridiculously so.
We actually wanted a twin room but got a double, I phoned up the day before to and they arranged for the sofabed to be made up for us arriving which was excellent.
The location is really good for a night out, round the corner from the Gate and Bigg Market and a walk or short taxi quayside or diamond strip.
We weren't bothered by any noise at night, but I would imagine if we had been going to bed early we could have been. Prob not the best place for families then!
The only let down was breakfast. It was really poor, limited and not tasty at all....but for the price we paid I'd have been happy with toast and cereal!

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellbell100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel and never can understand why they don't fit air con throughout. Although this is a budget hotel ish, unfortunately I never find their prices particularly very budget probably why I've never stayed at one of these before.

I did get a rear facing bedroom thankfully but I would have felt sorry for guests on the main road side. This hotel is based on a busy crossroads only a couple of minutes from the Redheugh Bridge. Weekend in question was just as the heat wave ended in Newcastle. However even with temperatures outside of below 20 degrees the room when I arrived was 28. It took from the Friday evening till the Monday morning for the temperature to get to 24. Fortunately the hotel does provide fans which did help they do fit nicely on the window sill and with the window open will drag in cooler air. The so called heating system / air cooler (not air con) was about as good as a chocolate fire-guard. Made little difference and was fairly noisy. Would also like to add that the hotel lobby has full aircon, was like a fridge compared all weekend, however getting in the lift nearly took your breath away with the heat.

However room otherwise was very decent, lots of towels bed comfortable, decent comfortable without being plush. Worth the £100 ish it cost per night average for the whole weekend? maybe not however its uber uber well located in the city centre and only a couple of mins wander to the Newcastle nightlife.

Staff was good and most polite they do make a big thing about that breakfast is always included. Nice idea but there's normally a catch if its free. Yes the cooked range was horrid. I've had worse but only just, Sausages awful, basically the cheapest possible, scrambled egg very bland same with the beans and no bacon on offer. This was the Saturday morning, I didn't bother Sunday and Monday and chose to eat elsewhere.

In summary. Its a good hotel, well located. But find elsewhere in warm weather and avoid breakfast unless its only Cornflakes etc. Would I stay there again, yes but only in cooler weather, but always ask for a rear facing bedroom!

Room tip: Always ask for a rear courtyard facing room. Front of the hotel is on a busy city centre dual carriageway & crossroads. If you can't sleep in the heat, go elsewhere in the summer.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear thebff,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and the room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the air conditioning and the food selection which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews