We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
225 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Simple and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre is a simple and clean hotel close to the Central Station and St James Park. Check-inn was fast and the bedroom and bathroom are average sized but clean. We stayed two nights in room 323, arriving on Saturday December 15 and, although basic, we enjoyed our stay there. There is a free breakfast included in the room rate, but the choice is limited. Only eggs, sausage and cheese. No bacon, ham or mushrooms. But it is a start for your day. If it is busy (in the weekend when Newcastle United has a home match) you will have to wait long before a table becomes available. But with a cheap room rate and a central location, the hotel offers value for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from stag or hen nights and other parties because especially during weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of recent stay with us.I am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast as you say it can be busy on weekends so the earlier you can come down the better.Thanks again for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    424
    158
    51
    27
See reviews for
158
301
71
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed in there for 12 days feeling like i was home and the staff with no exception are so friendly and helpful. Although the bus stops and taxis are just out of the door, all the important sites are just walking distance. I just LOVED it there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sattam_alsalhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations and you loved our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here with a group of work colleagues - rooms were clean and tidy, and nice and quiet even though its right in the heart of the city and a few minutes walk from train station and pubs. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and went beyond the call of duty when we were stuck with one of our challenges for our team night out treasure hunt - Andrew your a star singer! definately stay there again, next time i'm in newcastle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jla113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you fo your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad that Andrew gave such great service to you and maybe even helped you win your treasure hunt, he will be thrilled to read such kind words.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights from 7th till 9th December and would thoroughly recommend it. All the staff were so courteous and helpful and could not do enough for us when one of our group took ill, especially John, Lee and Kimberley. We would definitely stay here again. Great central location. Lovely rooms, sparkling clean and great breakfast made our stay so enjoyable. If you are heading to Newcastle this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you fo your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad that John, Lee and Kimberley helped you when one of your party became ill, they will be thrilled to read such kind words.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a great week-end just the job the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle the rooms neat and tidy the staff welcoming no problems with parking especially good if you have a blue card nothing to pay and if not no evening charge or £5.00 for twenty four hours stay.
Hotel has a free breakfast bar continental and hot breakfast not to fancy but good and easy to use felt relaxed in their lounge / Dinner had a read at the free papers over breakfast.
Staff could not do enough for us thats my wife and two sister and self my wife needs to use a wheel chair now and again as she gets weak with Chemo therapy due to her fight with cancer no problem with the chair the wife's a different story when her and the sisters gang up on me.
Seriously Lee one of the lads on reception put us right for the xmas market and a nice itallian meal at Roberto,s on westgate road first night there walking distance even with the chair had a sumtious meal with wine and a few wee ones music in the back ground I am sure I saw a glisten in the wife,s eye might have been a splash of rosey on my glasses staff were great fantastic value whole nights enjoyment with great food and beverages nice and cosy less than £20 a head with full biffta.
Had a late night cap in the hotel at the bar a big barrel of ice for the last one before lights out up stairs.
Big breakfast and out and arround in the morning shop to you drop sisters in action great place for shopping Newcastle the girls really enjoyed theselfs had a light lunch finnished the marathon shop back to the hotel for a wee kip awoke fresh as a mountain daisy talked with Lee at the reception their all great on the recption he booked us a table at the Landside Chinese resturant for 8PM suggested a drink in Rosies bar just opposite the resturant and organised us a taxi although its walking distance in china town from the hotel needed it for the wife who had decided to go out chairless.
We had a great night the music and atmospherein Rosies is great the Resturant offered set banquets you choose which one one you want or in my case the girls choose what I wanted the table reserved was just perfect one of those leather round seating couches around the table service just the bees knees the girls looking after you make you feel welcome the food we chose could only be descriped as fabulouse with good music in the back ground with a nice bottle of wine and a few wee ones they called us a taxi and poured us in after a realy good evening straight to bed before we woke up refreshed nice shower leisurly breakfast and off home with the three witches oops sisters great weekend great staff hotel was all you need would I stay there again you bet I would I hope I can get a booking for my birthday. Give it a try you wont be sorry.

P.S Had one drink in the Dog its on the way back to the hotel its great fun especially for the gay minded and were straight.

Room Tip: Its a city hotel in a square did not hear any noise A/C was quiete book early so as not to be disapo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad that Lee gave such great service to you, he will be thrilled to read such kind words.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Me and a friend got stuck at Newcastle as the roads where too dangerous to drive on every hotell could not help us as we had no card and no cash but had someone willing to make a card payment over the phone this was the only hotell that helped us, the staff are brill at there jobs and went out of there way to help us, would highly recommend and will stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iPhonejames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad that my team helped you and your friend when you were stuck .We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friend and I visited The Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle city Centre, I needed to get away for a few days.. It was the first time we had stayed here but my son visits these hotels frequantly, He advised me to book this one and I must say that his advice was right. The Hotel was Excellent.The staff on reception were more than happy to make our stay perfect and were very obliging and polte, We shall definatelly be coming back in the near future, Thanks from Gail and Angela.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailzoldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Gail & Angela
Thank you for your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad my team members made your stay they will be thrilled to read such kind words.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing