We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle/england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed overnight for a friends stag night last weekend
Very friendly staff and spotlessly clean rooms - very impressive indeed
Would recommend to anyone wanting a reasonably priced hotel in central Newcastle

Room Tip: Overlooking the square is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    440
    161
    52
    27
See reviews for
166
309
73
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

All the staff very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was the best it could be. Food was great with buffet style and rooms were very clean. Special thank you to Michael and Christopher on reception for all their kindness and their charming banter. Would definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Just sat eating breakfast which is catered for all tastes, friendly staff the rooms are extremely clean and I advise anyone to visit just hope next time Newcastle win from the ideally located for shopping sightseeing or for the football all in all we were very happy

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robandangiehartlepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed overnight here on business. Ideally placed if travelling here by train, as only a short walk. Check-in prompt and friendly. Room was a twin and overlooked the front of the hotel. Mattress appeared old and tried, but bearable for 1 night. Modern decor. Useful desk area. Shower was modern and fairly powerful. Gel provided. Thought a glass screen/door would have been more practical to the curtain provided! Especially as one section of it was glass - that separated the loo area from the shower. Hand wash provided for sink. 1 loo roll, plus one spare - cheap n cheerful, but at least it wasn't the greaseproof paper type! Good Hairdryer. Tea / coffee provided.
Breakfast was self-service. I agree the sausage and scrambled eggs were not the best, but OK. Plenty of bread for toast, fruit, cereal, yogurts etc. Choices of tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc from machine, as well as milk and orange juice. Snacks/drinks to take away in the reception area were astronomical! A sausage roll and a bottle of drink, almost £5!
All in all a good stay, for the price. Did not experience any noise, from revellers, as mentioned in previous reviews, but then this was a Thursday night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feline_Fan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in room 410 for 3 nights from 25 to 28 september during a business trip to Newcastle.
The hotel is clean and comfortable, with a great location . everything is within walking distance (city centre, shopping areas, central station). Service is good with friendly people at front desk .Breakfast is good with different options. Rooms are small but clean and with a modern look. it's definetly a very good option at reasonable prices. Only let-down: no wifi in the rooms

Room Tip: rooms on the entrance side (facing the small pedestrian sqaure) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

A nice hotel in a good location with very attentive staff. We are just back from a 3 night break and would definitely stay there again. 10 minute walk to the City Centre shops which really pleased "her who must be obeyed"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FBF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My main comment about this hotel is that breakfast was a real let-down: watery, synthetic tasting orange juice, poor quality sausages, overcooked scrambled eggs, horrible tasting croissants and not a rasher of bacon in sight.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mogues_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear mogues_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was disappointed to read that when you visited our breakfast you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing