We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at KeCo”
Review of Keco

Keco
Ranked #932 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner at KeCo”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were a little apprehensive when we approached the KeCo as it did not look too inviting, however once inside and we were shown too our table it proved to be a little gem. We had the Hong Kong set menu, a mixed platter which was delicious then onto Crispy Duck which was very tasty and plentiful, we then were brought out 3 dishes of food Beef in Black Bean sauce, Chicken and Cashew nuts and Prawn in vegetables and a large bowl of rice, it was all delicious dessert was also included a choice of Chocolate cake, Ice cream or coffee. All in all a really lovely meal.

The waitress was friendly and helpful, our wine arrived very quickly as did 2 glasses of iced water which was a pleasant surprise as we had not ordered it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elainejaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    12
    12
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Floor was mopped and bins pushed past table while we were eating!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have been to this restaurant on two previous occasions, each time food was good and atmosphere pleasant.

Last night however things were very different.

We arrived at 8.30pm having booked earlier. It was very quiet, we ordered drinks and food. While we were still eating our chicken and sweet corn soup the waitress began cleaning the restaurant, initially straightening up, then sweeping. She broke off from this to clear the soup bowls and bring the appetisers, which like the soup were delicious.

She returned to sweeping, then while we were eating crispy duck began mopping the floor! there was a strong smell of cleaning fluid which did not improve the ambiene ! A man in overalls arrived and walked to the rear of the restaurant, through a door and returned pulling a large green wheelie bin! We couldn't believe it- he dragged it right past our table then returned for a second one, which again travelled straight past us and out the front door on the right side of the restaurant, not the main entrance- we were onto our main course by then but it certainly didn't add to the atmosphere! Frankly by then we couldn't wait to finish and leave.

I didn't complain to the staff as I didn't want to upset my companion, but have never experienced anything quite like it.

As stated earlier it was a quiet night, but it was only 8.30-9.00pm not 11.30 and closing time.

We felt extremely uncomfortable and left in a hurry £47.50 for an ok meal ruined by the staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Huge portions- slow service”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We purchased a groupon/livingsocial type deal to have a half duck here.

We sat down in the restaurant and were given our menus, then shortley after some Chinese people came in and they got given a different menu from us. We were confused as the food we had seen on the website seemed completely different from the menu we had been given. We went to the bar area and requested the other menu....here were all the dishes we had been looking at online.

We ordered our food, we had our half duck plus a main course each and a rice between us plus a pint of lemonade.

The food did take a while to arrive but we were in no rush.

The duck arrived -it could have fed four for a starter- we got 15-20 pancakes, a vast amount of duck, suace, spring onions, salad and cucumber.

Our main courses arrived the portions were mega- we could managed only half of what we were given (and we love our food)- the restaurant happily packaged it up for us to take away.

Do be wary though on the menu some foods are marked not spicy but they are-if you are allergic to chilli let the waiting staff know.

I had the Gong Bae and it was one of the best Ive had in a long time- the sweetness and spicyness was just right -the chicken was so tender too-yum!

We were there on a Sunday night and by the time we left 8pm the restaurant was pretty full.

If you love authentic Chinese food go here and ask for the "other" menu and I promise you'll love the food.

Great prices too- for our half duck, two mains, one rice and one drink the bill was just £20-BARGAIN!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRS-SCOTT-KING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went here as we had a Groupon deal.

We had a half crispy duck with pancakes and trimming, Would have served four!

We also had two very nice main courses and rice.

Only two slight negatives.... Took ages for us too get served after we arrived. asked if we wanted drink which we ordered straight away but then took about 20mins to arrive and get anything else.

The other is that unless you ask for it any non-chinese people get a western menu.
If you want the proper chinese food you have to ask for it.

Really you should be offered both to start with. Also the food from the proper menu was much nicer!

Service could be improved but the quality of food made up for it.

I would go back if in the area again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Visited here with friends and had one of the many 4 course meals on offer. Had not read any reviews before going. The person who complained and gave a bad review because the booked a table for 5.30 and did not leave till after 8 should eat at McDonalds they do fast food. I can advise against ordering draft drinks as they were very poor, order bottles of wine and beer and they will be fine. The food was excellent and our carry out of what we couldn't eat provided another great meal the next night in front of tv. Would not put anybody off here unless they like fast food. The buffets in Chinatown round the corner cater for these people.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bargaintraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keco also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Keco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing