We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Luxury Bar/Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dacantus

Dacantus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sunderland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Luxury Bar/Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A new edition to Grey Street, this is a well appointed Spanish/Mediterranean bar/restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff. A good selection of beers/wine & with each purchase of a drink you're served with an appetising tapas style nibble. We decided to have some food from the evening menu which was well presented & very tasty, the pork fillet was delicious & very well cooked, my partner had a stunning chicken dish.

A welcome establishment to the Newcastle scene.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sund01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    83
    21
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a fantastic addition to Grey Street and Newcastle. Great atmosphere and the quality of the decor is superb. We Sat at the bar and enjoyed the draught San Miguel and some really nice Pinot Grigio. Starters of squid and moules marinier were amazing, excellent flavours and very well presented. For mains, the lamb casserole with couscous was tasty, tender and cooked really well. The fillet of beef was superb too, perfectly medium with piping hot veg and nice chips to compliment. A really great night in a bar which deserves to do well. We can't wait to go back and sample the rest of the menu........and one or two of the huge array of gins on offer!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiinthebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and i found by chance and called in for a drink ,lovely decor and friendly staff
after looking at the menu , we ordered the Special 3 Course lunch pate and a egg tuna salad
Pate was the best my Hubby has ever had ,followed by pork and sea bass and after a rest
creme brulee and a mixed fruit pudding served with fresh strwaberry and dark choc wafer , it was excellent food and not at all expensive for the quaility .We would give a visit one evening for sure, the choice of Gin and gin cocktails is amazing This place has somthing special and wish them well

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Classy bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in here last night and just loved the experience. Great to sit at the bar and to be treated to free tapas/appetisers. Defintely one to go to to chat and consume some very excellent gins.

Helpful?
Thank adidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
568 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“ooh special!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hubby and I went for a drink before heading to a restaurant. We liked the decor, quite swish! Nice staff. A lovely selection of wines and beers (and whatever else!). I had a Merlot, poured through the slightly silly aerator thing and hubby tried the Alhambra beer. Then a lovely little amuse bouche was presented to each of us which was absolutely delicious (a little mushroom in breadcrumbs - not a great description but sooo tasty!). It was raining outside and we had plenty of time to get to the restaurant so we stayed for another and lucky old us, we got another tasty morsel each, this time a piece of chicken in a delicious saffron and herbs sauce (or that's what it tasted like to me!). SO beautifully presented and what a lovely touch. To be honest, know how the restaurant meal went, I wish we'd stayed here to eat! Anyway visit, it's a lovely experience. Total bill for drinks as the food was free of charge - £16 which I don't think is half bad.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dacantus also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Dacantus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing