We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative for Japanese food”
Review of Osaka

Osaka
Ranked #114 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $44
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Alternative for Japanese food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice Ramen!!!! Better than nothing. At least an alternative for Japanese food for people who is living in Newcastle. ...............

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank novi_lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    108
    32
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

An interesting experience. My hubby loved it. He had grilled eel and various types of sushi. It was decent value. It was a bit too authentic for me but that's just me. There were lots of International students in when we were there which again tells you that it's for real. Great customer service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whateverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were on holiday in the stunning Northumberland country park and popped into Newcastle for a day trip. To be honest we were looking for something to eat that was simply a break from the hearty fayre found in the park and wandered into Osaka by accident. It was a very happy accident. The food was on a par with the Japanese restaurants we regularly go to in London. Teryaki Dom Buri was simply excellent and the Chicken Teryaki set was equally good. My son tackled the the spicy Ramen which he thoroughly enjoyed - though it was as hot as promised! Great service. We've already recommended this place to our friends who live in Consett and - if we lived in the area - we'd be regulars. Alcohol licence was expected any day. I'm sure this place will thrive

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Japanese food :)”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Osaka only opened earlier this month and I've been twice already! Lovely, authentic Japanese food beautifully presented - lovely decor and amazing fresh pickled ginger. Great selection of drinks - proper Japanese green tea served correctly - good selection of beers etc - lovely Japanese fruit liqueur too. Been for lunch and tea time - looking forward to dinner! Go give it a try :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DurhamDurhamLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great sushi and teppanyaki, great value”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I think this place is fairly new as they don't have an official alcohol license yet, but there are ways round it :-)

Fantastic select of sushi, maki, sashimi etc.

Nice interior, friendly waiting staff, great prices.

I'd go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Rockatanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing