We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome, Perfect, Warm, Cosy, Friendly....What...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jej1962
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Awesome, Perfect, Warm, Cosy, Friendly....What more can we add???”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My husband and I have been going to Petty Knowes since at least 2014 and we go, several times a year now. It really is like home from home, except there are more exceptional views than we have and there are more things to do and places to see for example Keilder, Hexham, Otterburn Mill, Northumberlandia, Vindolanda etc etc etc.

You definitely don’t need to take anything with you, except your own food, because everything is catered for, i.e.
- fully fitted and fully functional kitchen
- fully fitted shower-room, toilet, sink etc
- binoculars, torches and plenty of reading material about
the dark skies and about Northumberland too
- It is also disabled friendly which is a big tick in the box for
me, being disabled, ie easy access and also the fact that
it’s a bungalow cottage
- There are log fires in both the bedroom and lounge, which
is well stocked with logs and coal.
- There’s also central heating too, for if it gets too cold,
however, the cottage can get nice and cosy with just the
fires on their own
- There are TVs in both rooms too, games, dvds etc etc etc.
- They’ve an awesome hot tub, ideally situated to watch the
sunsets and sunrises (that’s if you want an early dip to
watch the sunrise, of course!)
- They’ve also got a special surprise for you and a wonderful
welcome pack, but, I’ll let them tell you all about when you
get there, it is awesome!!!!

Gordon & Joanne are the best hosts ever and over the years, I would like to think we have become friends. There is a sign in the cottage that says ‘Enter a strangers, leave as friends’, I remember seeing that for the first time thinking “what a really nice saying”. Here we are years later and I can truly say that we do class them as friends.

They will bend over backwards and go that extra mile for their guests. An example from our latest break, which my husband and I were blessed to have both the Xmas week of 2017 and New Year 2018 at the cottage and I have to admit, we had 2 weeks of bliss.

Unfortunately, during the holiday, we got snowed in, which wasn’t a problem, but we had ran out of food and after 1hr trying to get back to the cottage after only getting 100 yds from the gate, Gordon, bless, helped dig us out and pushed the car back to our parking spot, then both Joanne and Gordon made arrangements to get us some food dropped off by one of their staff, from their own local premier shop (Border Reiver) and then they walked down to the main road to collect it for us and delivered it to our door, plus, they also gave us food from their own cupboard. Now that is going the extra mile!

But with Gordon and Joanne it is their mission to give the best customer service ever and if that means going the extra mile, they’ll do it! which is what makes our stay so special and which is why I would feel comfortable going there on my own again and again, which is ultimately why we do go back again and again.

A Great customer service is all any guest wants or expects from a holiday and I have to say that with Gordon and Joanne, every time we’ve visited Petty Knowes, we’ve had exceptional service. If there was anything that we wanted, we just had to ask. So I know 100% that you will get the same level of service from them. If there’s anything you want, they will try to get it for you, if it’s logistically or feasibly possible. You will never have any worries there, at all.

Also, If you have a well behaved animal Joanne and Gordon are very reasonable and fair, as long as you respect the cottage. For us, that’s all that mattered too, we treat the cottage the same as our own home. There are lots of dog friendly places to visit and pubs too. The local redesdale arms is dog friendly and they have lovely food.

So Enjoy your holiday at Petty Knowes. Any questions, we’re happy to answer.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed January 14, 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful, picturesque cottage in the fantastic Northumberland countryside. Beautifully furnished, quaint and cozy getaway.

Joanne and Gordon are the perfect hosts.

The perfect place for a couples weekend.

Country pubs, Kielder water, dog friendly, hot tub, star gazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“3rd time around, still fabulous”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

As the heading states, our 3rd time staying here and the cottage is as wonderful as ever - in fact, even better as it's our first visit with the 'Gin Room'.
Gordon & Joanne have created somewhere truly special, a fabulous retreat which feels like a home from home.
Visited Harbottle Village Fete which was absolutely charming - a proper village fete.
If you want peace and serenity or a base for adventuring further afield, then look no further for your self catering, cottage accommodation in Northumberland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We holiday in the UK three times per year and always rent a cottage or apartment. I can honestly say that Petty Knowes Cottage ranks as number one!

This was our third holiday at Petty Knowes and we enjoyed it every bit as much as our first. In fact we have already booked our 4th.

The cottage is well equipped and is in the perfect location for exploring the surrounding area. Gordon and Joanne are brilliant hosts and will go out of their way to ensure your holiday is the best it can be.

I have no hesitation in recommending Petty Knowes Cottage to everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huw_jones...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Enter as strangers leave as friends"”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of our favourite places in the UK to have a relaxing break away from it all.
The cottage is a warm and inviting place to be. Very cosy with an open fire place and wood burner. It's very well equipped and decorated to a high standard with lots of quirky little features. Loads of character, which can also be said for the owners who live next door. Great people who have always made our visits special. On the mantelpiece in the living room is a little plaque that is the reason for my review title "Enter as strangers leave as friends", that's the way you are made to feel. The place is also in the middle of some beautiful countryside so perfect for walking/hiking if that's your thing.
We'll be back for our 6th visit soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Positivley perfect in every way!”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We've been coming here for several years and really look forward to coming back.
From the warm welcome by Gordon & Joanne through to the log fires, peaceful location, dark skies, comfortable furnishings, horses and sheep in the adjoining fields, sauna, and of course a glass of bubbly in the hot tub.
The Local pub is a 5 minute car journey with great food and good ale.
There is so much to do in the area or just relaxing at the cottage is a great way to unwind.
Petty Knowes is a beautiful romantic getaway and we love it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndielou...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, amazing hosts, luxury cottage”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What an amazing place! Everything about this cottage is lovely. Joanne and Gordon are wonderful hosts, and the attention to detail and the luxury touches make for a very relaxing break. We enjoyed the hot tub, and were made to feel so welcome. Beautifully luxurious and the lovely personal touches, ie candles, wine, welcome hamper made us feel very spoilt. If you are looking to escape from the real world for a while, you really couldn't choose better than Petty Knowes, its beautiful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing