We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute home from home - a must visit”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rich H
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute home from home - a must visit”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for a long weekend whilst attending a friend's wedding nearby. From the initial booking to the farewell and the gateway, both Gordon and Joanne were the consummate hosts making us most welcome in every respect. It is really like being welcomed as a member of the family.

The cottage is beautifully positioned to enjoy every aspect of the rugged wild Northumbrian National Park and is the perfect start point if you need to exhaust two excited spaniels like we did!

Inside the cottage itself you will find everything you could think of in a self catering holiday home and more besides....I'll give nothing away but the house has secret gifts to share with you!

We loved every minute of our time at Petty Knowes and if we get the chance we will be back in a heartbeat.

I can't recommend Gordan and Joanne highly enough - the most warm, welcoming and accommodating people you could ever hope to meet.

Go, please, you won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely a home from home
Liked least: Nothing what so ever
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimH543
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A superb get away from it all accommodation”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and me visited here with our dog for a three night stay.
Joanne and Gordon are excellent hosts helping to make us feel at home immediately, they are friendly and easy going.
The cottage is attractive, clean and very comfortable. It has open fires in the lounge and bedroom with logs and coal, really cosy. There is oil central heating and an easy boost button to get the cottage warm and snug too.
The lounge is very comfortable with large tv and DVD player with a selection of DVDs.
The bathroom has a walk in shower with toiletries and towels provided.
The kitchen is very well equipped, including tea towels and cleaning products. The bedroom has a king size sleigh bed and wall mounted tv.
This cottage has it all including peace and tranquility, the views are stunning.
We are already checking our diary to book our return trip, but for a longer stay next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

First class - a real find in the middle of some beautiful countryside. The extra touches from the owners - Joanne and Gordon, just make a perfect stay. Nothing is overlooked or too much trouble. I cannot recommend this property enough for a relaxing, care free stay with owners that really care if you are having a good holiday.
Thanks again - Richard and Serena

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola771
Leeds, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We'll be back...”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Absolutely wonderful break. Gordon and Joanne are most certainly the hosts with the most. An immaculate holiday cottage with everything you could possibly want, even a hidden snug reminiscent of a Harry Potter film.

The new hot tub was perfectly placed under the stars which made a truly memorable experience which we won't forget for a long time to come.

We will definitely be booking again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: The pub nearby
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Cottage ever, stayed twice and will definitely be back”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed 11/12/15 for 4 nights and previously in August/September 2014.

Petty Knowes is by far the best cottage that I've ever stayed in and it would be extremely difficult to find better.

Recommended to us by friends and so glad we booked.

The cottage is perched on top of the hill overlooking the countryside so peace and quiet is guaranteed. The views are wonderful in all directions, whether you are looking out the bedroom with a cuppa in bed, from the kitchen window having breakfast, from the hot tub with whatever you fancy (hosts Joanne & Gordon are usually on hand with cocktails!!) or leaning up against the gatepost whilst just taking in the air - it truly is a beautiful part of the country.

If you need stress relief, this is the place to stay!!

It's also great walking country with footpaths right outside the door. The cottage is ideally situated for all kinds of tourists, peace and quiet if you don't want to venture out but near enough to Newcastle, Hadrians Wall, Alnwick, Northumberland coastline, Scottish Borders all within an hour and Edinburgh approx 75 miles away.

The facilities are incredible, there is everything you need. Luxury items in the bathroom, every kitchen item and utensil you could possibly need with a wonderful well stocked picnic basket to welcome you. Fabulously relaxing lounge and bedroom, comfort is all around you. Then of course there is the sauna and hot tub outside, robes and slippers provided so you don't get yours mucky.

All the decor is luxurious but at the same time homely and comfortable, Joanne and Gordon certainly have an eye for detail. They are both wonderful, in fact, incredible hosts, where else do you get invited to the family pre-Christmas party? Homemade Cherry Vodka and Christmas Pudding Gin will most certainly not be forgotten.

We can't wait for our next visit as we can then see how the 'snug' 'gin room' 'narnia's hideaway' looks - it was being finished after we left so our friends got first use over Christmas.

As you can see most of the reviews are returning guests which really tells you everything you need to know.

Wonderful cottage, incredible hosts, beautiful scenery - we'll most certainly be back

Mike & Amanda

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The list is too long, sitting in the hot tub overlooking the countryside is the greatest stress relief
Liked least: There isn't anything to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jej1962
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Peaceful, Friendships, log fires & hottubs”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I visited Petty Knowes as a last minute booking from 2/1/16 to 10/1/16. We were so very impressed with what we found on our arrival. Joanne and Gordon were so friendly and helpful. They showed us around everywhere. Told us what we could and couldn't do locally. They made us a fabulous welcome pack of sandwiches, quiche, mince pies and Christmas cake and a bottle of white wine. We were so very impressed with the extra touches in cottage, plus the picnic Harper surprise was delicious. The cottage was lovely and clean and had lots of extras in it that I believe earned its 4* rating. The bedroom was lovely with a secret hidden room behind the mirror (a secret to discover on your own if you visit) also the bedroom had a wood burner fire, there was also lovely ambient lighting in the bedroom too, including a lovely leather chaise and that was such a lovely comfy surprise to read a book or two on. The kitchen was lovely and very well kitted out. The bathroom was lovely too with a nice walk in shower and lovely toiletries although ensure you wear your slippers in the bathroom because the floor is really cold in there (it's tiled) lol. But the lounge with its log fire was heavenly. We also made sure whatever the weather, come rain or snow, we went in the hottub and sauna too, which was lovely. Joanne even took a photo of us in there to prove we went in it when it was snowing heavily lol. We even got stranded there for one more night than initially planned due to getting snowed in, not that we were bothered, it was a great excuse for another night lol. Joanne and Gordon were great and allowed us to stay the extra night without any problems. It was idyllic, if you want to get away from it all. The cottage is situated in the dark skies zone and it is very very dark at night, but Joanne and Gordon have provided torches for their guests for if you ever needed or wanted to go out in the dark, although it does get too dark for a late hot tub, so make sure you use those facilities in the day light. If you have as good a time as we did, you will have thoroughly enjoyed yourself. They have a sign on the cottage mantelpiece that states "arrive as strangers, leave as friends". Never a truer statement could have been written. A lovely couple indeed. Can't wait to return in April. Julie Jones - Durham

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fires & hot tub
Liked least: Cold bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twdsaltbu...
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband, myself and our small dog stayed here over new year, we loved everything about it, we both have very busy jobs so just wanted to totally chill for a few days and we did, we even managed star gazing on New Year's Eve at midnight it was beautiful not seen anything like it. Joanne and gordan are the friendliest people, greeted us and made sure our stay was pleasant. Can't fault any of it, had a perfect romantic quiet few days, can't wait to go back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing