We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This cottage is an absolute gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mungbean4...
Peterborough, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This cottage is an absolute gem!”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This cottage is everything you could want in a holiday home - everything is provided, from spotless fluffy towels and bedlinen to a delicious welcome hamper and bottle of wine in the fridge, even a printed weather forecast for the days of our stay! The cottage is cosy and warm, with central heating and an open fire, and the views are spectacular. We took our two dogs with us and the enclosed garden is ideal. Mr and Mrs Moore provide exceptional customer service to their guests and are very welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We struggled, and failed, to find a negative. This cottage is superb.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacalia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at petty knowes in January and it was everything we could have hoped for! The accommodation was perfect as was our welcome. Being able to sit in the hot tub at midnight watching shooting stars was an amazing experience. We can't wait to go back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jop123201...
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend at Petty Knowes :) Pure Relaxation!!!!!!!! Joanne and Gordon have thought of everything for their beautiful cottage and were very friendly on our arrival, they made us feel so at home. The cottage is very comfy and cosy, we were soooooo relaxed here :) so relaxed we didnt even wanna leave, not even for food lol, especially with the log fires in the front room and bedroom, also there is a hot tub in the garden which was fab and the views from there were stunning!!!! We would love to stay here again and are already thinking about booking up for October :)))))) We would highly recommend this cottage for a beautiful, relaxing break away :)))))))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic New Year's Break”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed for a week over New Year. The cottage is beautiful inside with everything we could have wanted. The wood burners in the front room AND bedroom ensured the cottage stayed cosy throughout our stay. The enclosed garden and surrounding empty fields were great for the dog and the views from the outside hot tub were breathtaking. The main thing that made this such a fantastic holiday were the owners Gordon & Joanne. Gordon's advice regarding walking and cycling trails around Hadrians Wall and Kielder Water was brilliant and we were so pleased we accepted their invite to join them for a New Year's drink, it was like chatting with people we had known for years!!! The personal touches were also an added bonus! Gordon cleaning down our bikes after use, allowing us to keep them in their house and texts from Joanne warning us of the icy conditions were touches that made this holiday stand out. I cannot recommend the cottage or the owners highly enough. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fires
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIESMAR...
1 review
“A Great Getaway”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My girlfriend and I loved everything about the weekend away, Great hosts, great cottage with everything you need, Amazing hot tub cant wait to go again.
I would highly recommend a stay at the cottage

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aidan H
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect country getaway”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a perfect, well needed short break at Petty Knowes cottage. I just wish we could have stayed longer.

Gordon and Joanne were extremely friendly and gracious hosts. I hope we can visit again in future and get to know them a little better. We'd highly recommend a stay at Petty Knowes to anybody looking for a luxury escape in the countryside.

The cottage is set in some of the most beautiful British countryside I've ever seen. Spending a couple of nights in the hot tub, under the stars, was something really special that neither of us will ever forget.

The icing on the cake was the fact that the cottage has it's own Star Wars Monopoly set. Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilling2...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fantastic cottage, away from it all.”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We love everything about Petty Knowes cottage. We love the fact that it’s right on the moors and the views are amazing and the neighbours are sheep – yet its only 5 mins from a great pub with good food at very reasonable prices and ten mins from Otterburn with a great general store owned by the cottage owners! Gordon and Joanne are so helpful and friendly, and don’t be put off by the cottage being joined to the owners house as you hardly see anyone. The cottage feels very secluded; it has its own private garden. The sky is dark and the hot tub and sauna are wonderful – I’m a convert!

The cottage itself is very well equipped, and there are lots of little extras. It’s also spotlessly clean and very comfortable – you can really relax at Petty Knowes. You don’t need the weather either as its so snug with the wood burner and open fire. There’s lots of history nearby, we loved walking up to the hillfort in the evening.

We recommend Petty Knows to everyone and we have already booked to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet, hot tub, sauna and wood burner!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing