We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best three pounds I've spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Suggestibles

The Suggestibles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Suggestibles improv comedy group performs at The Stand Comedy Club the third Thursday of every month (December varies). The six-strong cast takes suggestions from the audience to inspire scenes, sketches and songs. If you like Who's Line is it Anyway? You'll love the Suggestibles! The night is different to stand-up. It's theatrical with a friendly, party atmos. If you can't make a Thursday night at the Stand, Google 'The Suggestibles' - they play many other nights at clubs and theatres about town. The Stand Comedy Club is in central Newcastle, serving up top comedy and bistro food seven days/nights a week. Entrance to the basement comedy club is via the Stand Bistro, with an 'accessible' entrance to the side, and a terrace to the rear. The Suggestibles: "One of the hottest comedy tickets in the Northeast' The Guardian. As seen in The Times Top 5 Comedy Nights Out Nationwide.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best three pounds I've spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went with one of my friends to see them at The Stand in Newcastle on Monday 12th August. It was our first visit to both the Stand and the Suggestibles and we will definitely be back. At first we were a bit unsure about shouting out suggestions, after all you might not sound as funny once the words leave your mouth. Have no fear because the dafter the suggestion, the bigger the laughs! We felt included in the show as both a member of the audience and as a part of the cast. The improv is a hoot, and if you only go to see one comedy show in Newcastle, I'd make it this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev F, Owner at The Suggestibles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for coming, and taking the time to review us Adele! Hope to use your suggestions next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Loved every min of this show! Only £3 but would of happily paid more. The suggestibles arr well est and tour a number of venues. Frist time I seen them but came highly recommended. The stand is a great venue, seen a few acts there now and keep coming back. Drinks are little pricey but reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteASAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev F, Owner at The Suggestibles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hey, thanks for your great review. Hope to see you along again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"Hilarious"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you haven't already been to see the Suggestibles I suggest you do, and if you have I suggest you go again. Wonderful entertainment and great value! They never fail to deliver a good night out. Go with suggestions in mind as your mind will go blank when prompted!

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank JacqiEastBGuesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev F, Owner at The Suggestibles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks Jacs for your fab review and suggestion tips to new audiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Once again the suggestibles didn't disappoint. Cracking show and always different from the last because of the unpredictability of the suggestions. Well worth a visit when in Newcastle and still well priced so it won't break the bank!! You learn interesting facts about different cultures you never knew before mainly because its made up on the spot which makes the show even funnier.
Took a new convert to the show who was South African and she thought the accents were hilarious!!!! Not to be missed!!

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Val55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev F, Owner at The Suggestibles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks so much for review Val and glad your South African friend could understand us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant, Innovative and Improvised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is one of the most original and best nights I've had at a comedy show for ages. (have they taken it to the Fringe?). The wit and comedy was first rate and the whole show was highly enjoyable, cheap and fun.

If there were more stars i would have given it 10. Yes that's right i would have doubled my review because that's how good it was.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev F, Owner at The Suggestibles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Cheers for the review JG. We went to the Fringe last year - just for a night. Think we might go for longer next year as its our tenth anniversary year - so hoping to do lots of new stuff to celebrate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Suggestibles also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Suggestibles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing