We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal for a hungry student”

Carluccio's - Newcastle
Order Online
Ranked #172 of 1,479 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Carluccio’s Restaurant in Newcastle, just moments from the Charles Grey Monument. Sit up at the bar and enjoy one of our exciting cocktails, lunch al fresco on our outdoor terrace or a cosy dinner in our inviting restaurant. Enjoy our exciting new menu, comfortable seating, beautiful décor and of course, excellent customer service.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took our grandson here for a farewell dinner before he started at the university . He is a great connoisseur of the Italian restaurants of Leeds and it met with his approval . We enjoyed other items on the menu and were similarly satisfied . I had the set menu , which was good value . Pleasant surroundings and excellent 'servizi' if you can manage the long flight of stairs ! We had been earlier in the day for a 'second breakfast ' which we had al fresco , looking out on the pedestrian precinct . Excellent service too .

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlucciosManager, Manager at Carluccio's - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Alison H, we are very happy we could offer you a good experience! Your recommendation means a lot to us, so thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant is apparently part of a chain. It is fantastic. The food is excellent, the prices reasonable though not cheap and the service is exceptional. For those with coeliac disease the attention given by the staff to providing the best options (and they clearly knew what they were tallking about!) is something we had not experienced before. As visitors to the city were were disappointed we would not have an opportunity to visit again.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank parkwoodpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlucciosManager, Manager at Carluccio's - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Parkwoodpair, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very pleasant atmosphere and a very nice pre dinner menu .
We had two courses starters and main !
The starters antipasto ; which had lots of nice things meats crunchy beans olives a salsa ? Great portion very tasty cauliflower soup which was lovely and mushroom and kale ? Bruschetta .
For mains we had chicken
And pots the verde bowl which was kale spinach and chilli with poached egg ( extra cost of £1) and minute steak with pots and leaf salad . The chicken was tasty the pots on both this and the steak were a little underwhelming , sort of dark !?! The verde bowl was disappointing , as the egg was hard , a runny egg
Would have been much nicer .
The portions were good . The Verdi bowl was least interesting ; a bit dull and a smaller portion , and really a bit cheeky to charge extra for a hard egg !
The steak was ok, but a bit cold a sauce would have been nice I asked for mustard ; which was brought .
The waitress was nice and attentive . And with a bottle of house white the bill was reasonable . Nothing amazing , but nice honest food and good portions !

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank sally-copps49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlucciosManager, Manager at Carluccio's - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Sally-copps49, thank you - we really appreciate your feedback. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here whilst in Newcastle for a short city break. Have been to Carlucclo's in other towns and generally they are not bad for a chain type restaurant. But this one was below their normal standard that we have experienced elsewhere. The was poorly cooked and poorly presented. So was only just adequate and nothing to encourage us to go back. It's on the main drag in the city and I suppose don't have to try too hard to get people in. But the standard of food was really quite poor.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 445lindseyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlucciosManager, Manager at Carluccio's - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 445lindseyy, thank you - we really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were very hungry, looking for an open restaurant, fortunately we found Carluccios, the starters of pate and cheese were delicious as were the main courses, my ravioli was beautifully made.
The service was excellent, slightly over attentive.
A good meal , pleasant surroundings and happy to recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank C6132NOkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlucciosManager, Manager at Carluccio's - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello C6132nokw, thank you - we really appreciate your feedback. We're looking forward to your next visit with us. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carluccio's - Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Carluccio's - Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing