We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The North East at it's very best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quilliam Brothers

Quilliam Brothers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“The North East at it's very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spend many hours in this wonderful little tea house for two reasons; the tea & cakes are incredible and the people are fantastic. This place for me is warmth personified, the staff take great pride in providing a superb level of service to all customers at all hours. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJCH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    82
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cakes, lovely tea and fantastic staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fantastic selection of teas and cakes, with a fantastic explanitory menu. Cosy seating with floor cushions and beanbags .... its a home from home! Plenty of boardgames too :-) excellent for your innner child! Depsite being very busy, staff were friendly and engaging, with a great sense of humour.
Overall the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a natter with friends over some of the nicest and most unusual tea ... the amaretto tea is a must!! A unique little place in the middle of franchises and over priced chains ... please visit!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rcgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Endless choice of teas, very friendly service. Cosy decor.

Their breakfast and lunch menu are slightly limited though. But the food is good quality.

Their long opening hours make it very convenient to go anytime.

So much better than the generic high street chains of coffee shops.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"Brilliant Coffee, Brilliant Deco and Vegan Options!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Really impressed, I loved how they had decorated the place so my first impression was very good. I had the best hazelnut cappuccino I have ever had - really delicious. By this time I was already convinced that I would return, but if I needed more convincing, after looking at the menu I saw vegan options and a vegan cake which I was very please to see, unfortunately I had not come to eat, but my friend was very happy with his cheese and ham stottie.

Would definitely recommend, will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, cake and Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

So much choice of tea. The cakes are really good as well, especially the gluten free ones. Have been a couple of times now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teliooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quilliam Brothers also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quilliam Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing