We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute bargain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osbornes

Osbornes
Ranked #545 of 1,252 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar, Diner, Sheesha Garden & all weather heated terrace. Happy Hour every night for your chance to win FREE drink! We have a private bar available for functions and a fabulous Cocktail Lounge also available for private hire! We serve World Beers, Cask Ales, Cocktails, and Tea & Coffee too!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute bargain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I ate here recently part-way through a day drinking session in Jesmond. I was amazed at the prices on the food menu - so so cheap. I got a veggie burger and onion rings and it was under a fiver so I wasn't expecting much, but I was actually really really surprised! The food was tasty and the service was quick - to note, the onion rings were amazing! There's a very studenty/young professionals/twenty-somethings vibe, but if you fit into those categories then what's the problem? Beware match days, but surely the same can be said for anywhere in Newcastle? Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sealand90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Osbornes, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal at Osbornes Kitchen and we are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our food. Thank you for recommending us to others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not eat here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I live locally and popped into 'The Kitchen' Osbornes for a light lunch. When we arrived there were a few groups of people in but one poor girl serving, so there was a lengthy wait to order. The menu was sparse to say the least, but there were a few safe options on there so we didn't let it put us off.

My first option of Eggs Benedict from the brunch selection however I was told "brunch is not available' at weekends - there was no mention of this on the menu.
My second option of Jacket potato - "we've ran out of jacket potatoes" - it was 12.30pm.
My third option of steak and ale pie "we don't have any pies" .

This left a poor selection of sandwiches and a couple of burger options. The woman serving recommended the "chicken burger" because of its fresh 'ingredients'. The burger came and it was literally that - a poorly hacked up chicken breast in a dry bun. No seasoning, no relish!
It was possibly one of the worst things I have been presented with at a 'restaurant'. Im not sure of the 'chefs' qualifications however perhaps he needs a refresher course in how to cook because a 10 year old child could of come up with something better.
My partners 'chilli' burger wasn't much better, and his 'cheesy fries' didn't come with a hint of cheese.
My advice would be to keep walking past this restaurant. Perfectly lovely decor, shame about the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahEgg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Osbornes, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It saddens us to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience at Osbornes Kitchen. It seems you visited us just before our menu change, which may be the issue with having low stock due to some dishes not being featured on our new menu. I am very sorry to hear that you were both not satisfied with the quality of your burgers, I have taken your comments into account and will pass them onto the chefs. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great North Run weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

10 minute walk from the Holiday Inn. Patio heaters provided outside where you watch the world go by. Lots of offers on drinks inside the bar. Good mix of people.
Weekend early closing on Sunday was a shock!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Osbornes, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Osbornes bar! and appreciated our outside patio heaters and drink offers.

We agree that we do get a great mix of people which what gives our bar such a good atmosphere - especially during the weekend.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newvcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“jesmond pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

in popular student area in Jesmond, seating and awnings outside.
The most appealing thing about Osbornes is its client mix of differing age groups on weekend....so refreshing.
A pleasant social atmosphere both inside and out.....nothing outstanding......just a pub...but nice place to chill...prices not too exorbitant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 57eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Osbornes, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write this recent review on Osbornes. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and agree that we do appeal to a range of different clientele which helps create our buzzy atmosphere during the weekends. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Everyone must try the burgers. For price and quality they were amazing. Still can't put my finger on the secret herbs used. The staff and selections of beers are good and nicely priced

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nufclegend09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Osbornes, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for writing such a fab review!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our burgers and appreciated our selection of beers.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osbornes also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Osbornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing