We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing home made food!! doesn't disappoint!!”
Review of JJ's Cafe

JJ's Cafe
Ranked #222 of 1,401 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 13, 2018

If you like good food and not worried about the tired decor this is definitely the place. Family run and very friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaiffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2018

Went to JJ`s last night for the 2nd time. Both times the food was excellent and really tasty. Helpful staff and quick service

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markduffy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Having come back from Malaysia homesick for the delicious 'street' food you get there, I was amazed to find this wonderful restaurant which serves fabulous Malaysian food. So reasonably priced. It is a very simple place and does not serve alcohol. But don't be put off by that because the food is so good. If you like Malaysian cuisine you will have missed out if you do not try this restaurant when in Newcastle.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Claris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Can't believe this has been here for 20 years and I've missed it. Fantastic food. We started with the chicken satay skewers with the best peanut sauce I've tasted. I went for the egg curry and rice, only £5, whilst my partner had sambal squid. Portions generous and we'll presented. Very good service in a clean and simple cafe. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Food is very authentic. Excellent roti canai and curries. Relaxed and BYOB. Been twice in the last few weeks since discovering, great both times.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Cafe also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to JJ's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing