We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't of asked for a better hotel, was amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifton Mount Hotel
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't of asked for a better hotel, was amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Got there atmosphere was great everyone got along straight away, what ever you needed andy got for you, andy was a top gent and carried our bags to top floor rooms, best laugh ever in this hotel could of stayed in all night because it was such a laugh. Rooms were spotless, you can NOT moan at the price really worth the money. Andy gave us all a lift into town and got our takeaway for us, what more can you ask for. Definitely would recommend this hotel and we will be coming back every time we come to Newcastle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    7
    14
    12
    25
See reviews for
2
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Came up for a night for my cousins birthday.. had more fun at the hotel after the night out then town it's self. Andy the owner just fulfilled all of our needs! He was willing
to do literally anything to ensure our stay was perfect.

Limo was amazing, free drinks and entertainment.

Can't wait to go back apparently it's a penguin fancy dress party soon there!

You will definitely be seeing me again soon. marvellous!

Would highly recommend this hotel to any young person planning a night out. xXx

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Came here with a big group of girls to celebrate a birthday! The hotel manager was welcoming, really laidback & provided us with free drinks, free limos to town and a late check out. The beds were really comfy and the downstairs seating area was great to all gather for a few drinks before town. The hotel wasnt strict so we didnt have to worry about the music being too loud, coming in late ect, which other places would be funny about. Would deffo recommend this place for groups as we had one of the best weekends ever and would love to go back ! All the best for the future andy :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiewalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

if you're going for a night out in Newcastle there isn't a better place to stay. clean rooms, comfy beds and cheap as chips. Andy our best mate gives free lifts into town and drops ya off at the gate. Take ya own drink and sit downstairs inside or out Andy even got us a glass with ice! Really nice guy and makes ya stay even better! seriously if your going out in Newcastle this is the best place to stay!!

See ya Saturday Andy!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

13 of us stayed for a 21st birthday weekend and had a great time! Really close to town and nightlife, good rooms and comfy bunks that did the trick for somewhere to rest our heads when we got in from nights out. The hotel man Andy loved life and gave us free jagers and a hummer limo to take us into town and sorted us out with early check in and late check out. Real party environment, ideal for big groups which some other hotels aren't keen on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

booked for 2 nights , but only stayed for 1 , so ended up paying £130 for 1 night in the end.

Arrived at the hotel after a very long drive, The hotel is opposite a Mosque, so saw a lot of men hanging around opposite the hotel for friday prayers. Once in the hotel had a welcoming approach, Hotel looked basic but spotlessy clean, Sawa more workmen in the hotel communal areas, renovation work going on. Given a downstairs Room, which was very small for 2 persons ,very basic , but clean , no home conforts though, no tea or coffee making facilities , no soap and very small hand towels provided.

We stayed one night only , due to noise issues

Hotel was quiett by day but very noisy at night, not much sleep qaulity. it is a 24/7 hotel with young guests coming and going all night . making a lot of drunken noise.

We were honestly warned by the mangeress next morning ,that the Hotel was going to be very full and very noisy that night due to stag and hen parties arriving, and she would source us ear plugs ! not what we wanted to hear.

Being a very mature couple we went out and discussed this over breakfast and felt that booking this hotel was a mistake and not for us , we like our rare weekends away with peace and quiet.and wished we had booked somewhere else .

This hotel is really for the young lads and lasses that like to party. WE went back to the hotel and told them upfront that it was just not for us , and as we had a very long journey back home the next day we needed good qaulity sleep for that very long and safe drive.

Armed with the information given to us that morning we felt we had to find accomodation elsewhere which offered gauranteed sleep qaulity for the long drive back home . This information cost us at short notice, which bust our trips budget. so turned into a very expensive weekend.

We were upfront with the hotel and said partying in that style was not for us but the Hotel did not offer any part refund, we left anyway.

The hotel is a work in progress with refurbishments going on too , but could do with some refinement and home comforts if it wants to attract families or older people and solo guests

Good points , Budget Hotel spotlessy clean, Comfortable bed Freindly owners and staff.
Great for Party goers, good free parking by day and no curfew times to be in or out by, very informative and helpful

Bad points : No prior warning on noise at night by type marketed clients 20's somethings wanting to make noise and disturb other guests.

Not warned on booking that large stag and hen parties frequent this hotel and sleep quality is poor
Not in such a good area for lone women. would not reccomend
Not for mature couples who want a quiet time.
No Home comforts;- ie NO tea coffee soap shampoo etc in rooms. hard backed chair and the room too small for anyone with disablity, not much room to move around for disabled requiring assistance and personal care in the bathroom,for 2 persons.
No safety hand rails in walk-in shower.
Poor sleep qaulity with taxis turning up freuqently during the night with noisy young women in high heels on wooden floors

Room Tip: Not good for severe disability or equipment. Ground floor rooms are noisy and do not offer great sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamarooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked quite late and ended up paying £150 for one night!

That being said, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. They also allowed us to check out late on the Sunday so that we could come back and shower after the run which was really appreciated!

The room was basic, no complimentary shampoo or shower gel, only bars of soap. So bring your own!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#39 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Mount Hotel

Property: Clifton Mount Hotel
Address: Clifton Mount 76 Grainger Park Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 8SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Clifton Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing