We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Ottoman Turkish Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Ottoman Turkish Restaurant, We are a friendly Turkish eatery located on Clayton Street. We are proud to serve the finest and freshest ingredients, bringing a true taste of Turkey to the heart of Newcastle. Whether it be hummus and pita's, Turkish Moussaka, or one of our mouth watering BBQ dishes, we have something to please everyone.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I came here for lunch one Saturday with 3 friends. We each had the lunch menu, which is 2 courses for £7.45 per person. With alcoholic drinks as well our bill came to just under £50. The service was courteous and efficient, and the food was delicious. We were all very impressed with the whole meal, and the two of our group who are local will definitely be going back soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffy-Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    157
    38
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing value!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Visited for lunch the other week and cannot complain at paying £7 for two starters and a main course! There were three of us so we ordered a selection of different starters and shared them. For main course we had chicken shish, moussaka, and the meatballs. The flavours were gorgeous and as I travel to Turkey quite a lot, it was nice to see authentic dishes on the menu!

My only complaint would be that as we were the first customers, the restaurant was very cold so we had to keep our coats on.

Would definitely return here again, and would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys real Turkish food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyjdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummmy Ottomans”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Fabulous meal in Ottomans last night, food was amazing and very reasonably priced, service was fast and friendly and efficient, restaurant is nicely decorated and very well spaced out, not over packed and crowded like some restaurants.. Never tried a Turkish restaurant before but would definitely recommend and will be back soon!! Party of 4 thoroughly enjoyed all starters and mains.. from the garlic sausage or meatball starters to the slow cooked special lamb shank or huge mixed grill, all wonderfully tasty and served with a fresh salad and hot chilli salsa and flavorsome rice and lovely warm pitta ..Yumm :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank princesspeachface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lunch special menu is excellent !”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a late lunch. I think the offer us on until 4pm. Starter and main for it think £7.45

You can choose 2 of the starters. I choose hummus and cack served with pitta bread. Both were very tasty.

Main course I had chicken shush which was beautifully cooked and the rice and salad were also tasty.

On the whole couldn't fault this for taste or value it was a pleasant surprise.

Well worth a try

Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandJordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Time”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a fantastic little turkish restaurant with authentic turkish delicacy. Nice variety of dishes each with unique flavor. The lunch deal is not bad. Food some time to arrive but its a very pleasant interior so no hesitation in spending time there. Location is fab...
Recommend anytime...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbdullahRaz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottoman Turkish Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Ottoman Turkish Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing