We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not for us”

Aneesa's Buffet Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A buffet restaurant with a difference! An exceptional range of a la carte quality food available on the buffet for one set price.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just not for us”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very busy restraunt with excellent reviews however this place just wasn't for us. No knifes and forks napkins or plates on table, they all have to be collected in a canteen style system that really is like being back at school. Food was very average, restraunt was uncomfortably hot. Didn't stay long enough to sample deserts. Will not return here think I will stick to places where tables are set and orders taken. Maybe good for some just not for us

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    304
    94
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spot On”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went there for our works Christmas Party so mixed company and everyone said what a lovely time they had. The food selection was very good with large choices of Starters, Mains and Desserts, and also (unusual for a buffet restaurant) it was fresh, you could tell it had not been in the serving trays for hours. I would not hesitate in going back nor would I hesitate in recommending.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoppingGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Buffet restaurant”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visited as a group of 6 on a Wednesday evening and expected it to be quiet - but rather busy.

Greeted at the door and shown to the table - where our drinks order was taken.

2 different types of wine ordered - both out of stock - so we made do with soft drinks (their financial loss not mine !)

Food choice is excellent.

Starters, chicken tikka / chicken & lamb kebabs all very good. Packed with flavour.
Poppadoms & dips really good.

Curries not so great :-

Madras, good flavours but thin & watery not very spicy

Tikka masala no flavour at all, thin and watery.

Korma other than the colour difference had the same flavourless taste & thin texture as the Tikka masala (in a blind taste test - I doubt you could tell them apart).

Rice was good - spotted a choice of 3 (chicken pilau/plain pilau & boiled)

Didnt try the massive selection of desserts - as dont have a sweet tooth but they looked great.

Value for money - average - it works out costly if you only eat starters ( because the main curries were thin and flavourless)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thegeordies40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Something for everyone.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have visited Aneesa's in South Shields on many occasions and have found the food to be to a very high standard. The staff are always welcoming, friendly and very helpful. When Aneesa's also opened on the Newcastle Quayside we thought it could not get any better, but they have surpassed themselves. There is something for everyone with the Indian selection, chinese counter and pizzas. Help yourself buffet just got even better. To top the bill the Aneesa's in Newcastle is also fully licensed. I have visited with my husband and two grown children and I would recommend this to any of my friends and family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EileenTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, great food :)”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We attended aneesas as a group on a busy Saturday night, we were seated quickly and drinks served swiftly. The food is amazing. There is so much choice cooked fresh and it never ran out. The quality of the food was better than some a la carte Indians I have been too. The restaurant is big enough that even in a busy Saturday night there was no queuing. Top notch food, great value for money I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubytuesday030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aneesa's Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Aneesa's Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing