We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Literary & Philosophical Society

The Literary & Philosophical Society
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The "Lit and Phil" is the largest independent library in the UK and has just celebrated its 225th anniversary! Crammed floor to ceiling with books - about 150,000! Huge music library. You can become a member or just pop in and enjoy a cuppa whilst soaking up the atmosphere. Well worth a look around - it's a truly amazing place! (near the Central Station in Newcastle)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a library should look like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

If like me the look, feel and sight of thousands of books is a pleasure then this library is the one to visit. Hidden away between Neville Hall and Bolbec Hall the Lit' and Phil' is a cornucopia of literary delights and their collection is amazing. I would heartily recommend visiting and if possible becoming a member in order to support such a wonderful part of Newcastle's history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A proper library with both old and new books”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited the 'Lit & Phil' library building (as a member) this holiday period, the library is part of the history of Newcastle upon Tyne and, thankfully, is much the way it was a hundred or more years ago. It is particularly good for books on local history, fiction and topographical / old travel books. There are also classical CD collections and music scores. Coffee etc is served from a hatch. Non members can sign the visitors book and be given a tour, I do recommend a visit if you are near the central station with some time to spend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Favourite Place In Newcastle - A Real Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is the most wonderful building! This old library is bursting with old world charm and full of history. It even stands on the first street to be lit by electric light! I often go alone but i love to take family and friends as it never fails to impress and delight no matter what they are interested in, even children and teenagers! So convenient to get to as well as it is on the corner of the train station and served by all transport links and a 5 minute walk into town or the Quayside. Always worth a pop in if even just to look round for 5 minutes as it is a stunning building with fabulous architectural features. A real haven in winter, especially the ladies' room with cosy armchairs, lamps and desks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HitTheNorth73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Before entering the Lit and Phil I was a bit worried that upon walking in I would be greeted with a scene from the past consisting of quiet and studious academics in tweed and elegant intellectuals in coat tails and top hats. If you even have an inkling of the same thoughts as I had and are worried about your dress code, your lack of scholarly thinking or are just think this is an exclusive kind of place then never fear! This is such a charming and cosy library with a pleasant atmosphere and laid back attitude. It is my favourite library in the city and I could happily spend the day here.

It is also a very beautiful place and a real gem and place of tranquillity in the busy hub of the city. This is a place where anyone can go and find some quiet reflection or peace (there is even a section for kids and a get-your-own coffee bar). The library study area has large old wooden tables and the musty warm smell of books mixed with the aroma of brewing coffee is both comfortable and memory invoking.

The beautiful high ceilings, rows and reams of books and imposing statues all add to the special vibrancy of this place. I wholly recommend you to take a look, however brief, at this really special building if you get the chance. You won’t regret it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Literary & Philosophical Society also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Literary & Philosophical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing