We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As far as pizza goes...”
Review of Cal's Own - CLOSED

Cal's Own
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant/Take-Out
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“As far as pizza goes...”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Easily the best pizza I've had in a long time. It's a very unassuming restaurant and doesn't try to be anything it isn't - they serve pizza and they serve it well. The pizza is all freshly made and you can tell the ingredients are fresh etc. the only surprise, and this is by no means a complaint, is that we were able to walk in and get a table straight away each time as, based on the quality of the pizza, I expected to have to put my name on a list and wait. It's a small place - maybe ten tables - and you can bring your own bottles. Don't understand any of the negative reviews - it's a pizza place, course it's not flash/Michelin star settings. Anyways, as I said before it's the best pizza I've had in a long time and definitely the best pizza I've had in the UK. The only reason I haven't scored high on 'Special Occasion' and 'Romance' is because it's not that sort of place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Euanm271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    85
    33
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No Nonsense Excellent Pizza”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited Cal's with a group of friends on a saturday lunch time, the staff were friendly and very helpful, even offering us sound advice on where we could pick up some cold beers!

Pizza was excellent, and certainly better than any i remember eating in Newcastle. The menu is concise with a varied selection of toppings for the pizzas, it is clear that only the finest ingredients are used in Cal's Own pizzas.

i couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

On initial inspection of the menu the prices may look a little on the steep side for newcastle, however when you take into consideration a 18inch pizza is more than enough for 2 people the prices suddenly become very reasonable, specially considering the outstanding quality of the pizza that will be served!

we will definitely be back, Hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best pizza pie in the Toon”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

They do say if you bake the best pizza the public will beat a path to your door and this is certainly true at Cal's Own.
Perfect authentic Napoli pizza pie with a small but perfectly formed range of different toppings, we tried the Pizza Margarita, the red pie and the Calzone plenty for four and finished with the most amazing cheesecake.
They don't serve alcohol but you can take your own for a very small corkage.
I've never had a favourite pizza restaurant before, but I have now. Well done Cal, see you again and very very soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top notch pizza :o)”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pizza fantastic authentic taste, fresh ingredients. Really good service and child friendly. Will def make this our regular pizza place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuzrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbiebabe1980
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not worth the money,Very overpriced & food undercooked & mushy.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

After going off reviews on here ...we visted Cal's own for a take away, the menu is a little confusing but a member of staff explained it to us. Pizzas are a little overpriced & I felt mine was very undercooked & very mushy.When u picked a slice up all the undercooked cheese fell off. I wouldn't recommend or return here as I felt it is nothing special & in future ill stick to "By the slice" in the Grainger market for the best pizza in Newcastle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank barbiebabe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal's Own also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing