We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste sensation!”
Review of Cal's Own - CLOSED

Cal's Own
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant/Take-Out
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste sensation!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went here with a group of 9 for a birthday celebration. We decided to share a selection of 6 pizza's and asked the chefs to decide on the toppings for us. I'm glad we did! The pizza's were full of flavour and the toppings were fresh and of high quality, with some great combinations. The different 'Red' and 'White' pizza pie's were a nice twist, offering distinctly different base and sauce set ups that compliment the varied range of toppings on offer.

The staff were friendly and dealt with orders well, pizza's came to the table in good time and a few people had drinks which were quirky such as 'Hawaiian punch' and the American Soda's. The menu and decor is well thought out and fpr whatever reason I noticed that the branding was really cool.

The owner came out to ask for our feedback on the pizza's we had tried and had a chat with us about the ingredients he sources. It was nice to see that he is clearly passionate about pizza and wants to set a quality standard. The fact that you can bring your own drinks was a bonus, making this the perfect spot for dinner and drinks at a reasonable price.

New restaurants could learn a thing or two from this place. It beats anything else in the area hands down.

I'll definately be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzmatazz246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    85
    33
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty fresh good quality homemade pizza!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great taste, simple menu with huge pizzas. Can fault it. Chef came out to greet us. Would definitely recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahdibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't fault the pizza”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Randomly decided to go to Cal's for a work lunch. Best decision we have made.
Thin crisp pizza bases. Asked on a stone oven with simple straight forward toppings. We went for the Cheese pie and the Neapolitan pizza margarita and we weren't disappointed. The pizza I had was up there with ones I have had in Italy and that is saying something as the standard of pizza in newcastle isn't fantastic at times. Decent value for money. Lacks a bit of atmosphere but I put this down to the time we were there. Looking forward to a return visit ASAP!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cew1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great product inexperienced service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place has great pizza but needs to learn how to serve people better and more efficiently.

But pizza defiantly the real deal and 10/10 real Italian style pizza although I hate there names for them as they make them sound like American deep pan when there thin large Naples style pizzas that taste amazing!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GP1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Great Pizza”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My Friend and I have walked past Cals Own many times saying that we should try it, so we did and we had the best pizza we have ever tasted! The pizza we had was the white pie with hot italian sausage. The base was crispy not greasy like other pizzas and the toppings are out of this world, so over all a great pizza.The staff were more than helpful and polite ensuring through out the whole meal that we had everything that we wanted and for £25 a bargin! I will defiantly be going back to Cal's Own in the near future!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal's Own also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing