We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Steve Jobs of Pizza”
Review of Cal's Own - CLOSED

Cal's Own
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Restaurant/Take-Out
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Steve Jobs of Pizza”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Cal's pizza is, BY FAR, the best pizza in Newcastle. It is, possibly, the best pizza in Britain.

As a native New Yorker born in Brooklyn I have been fortunate enough to eat a lot of fabulous pizza in my life. Cal's Own is right up and exceeds the standards of many New York pizza parlours.

Now, as noted, in some other reviews Cal is an intense person. You're not going to get, "Hi, my name is Cal and I'll be your server tonight. How's everyone doing? Can I get you something to drink. Let me recommend the House Margaritas which are infused with fresh Swedish gooseberries..."

Cal is intensely passionate about pizza and how it is made. Cal isn't running a business. Cal is running an art studio. He's chasing mastery; he's chasing perfection. He doesn't want be as good as the pizzerias in Brooklyn or Naples. He wants to exceed their high standards. Cal may well be the Steve Jobs of pizza. He may not be all warm & cuddly at times but if you want a world class culinary experience then you need to visit this temple of pizza.

I thank him for his fabulous food, for search for excellence and I wish him the very best of luck.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCtoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    85
    33
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“gorgeous food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very happy that this has opened on Chilly Rd. The pizza is moist and very flavoursome. Two of us shared a calzone which can be a dry dull heavy meal. Here it was light and full of flavour and taste. Then we had Mississipi Mud Pie. I don't even like chocolate and yet loved this. Again very moist with distinctive flavours and very light. Mmm. Will definitely be back. Only slight downsides are the lighting which is bright. Maybe some lamps instead in the seating area?. Also for daytime I like magazines, papers etc about to browse. Just a pet thing of mine! Service was slow but we expected this. Lots of takeaways were going out which maybe impacted on service?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Pizza”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Superb authentic Italian pizza.

I used to live in Italy and love pizza. I am often disgusted by what so-called Italian restaurants serve up as pizza and am delighted that there is finally somewhere nearby I can go to get a good one.

The staff struggled to understand the concept of delaying putting my pizza in the oven for 5 minutes after I'd made my order so that it was hot when I arrived but once I got home and heated it up in the oven I was still delighted to get stuck in. I would highly reccommend the Italian sausage and red onion combo!

Not cheap but worth the extra few quid and incomparable to anything else you can pick up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

After reading the excellent reviews for Cal's Own I couldn't wait to visit. We called at lunch time and ordered takeaway pizza's, they were prepared and ready within fifteen minutes! They are fantastic! I personally think the pizza's don't need any toppings added the beauty and taste is in the simplicity.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cals Own”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The restaurant had a few people when I arrived and it was a good mix... Pleasant surroundings and a nice ambience. The pizza was lush and the white pie (garlic bread) was a garlic bread never tasted before but a nice experience. The guys there were lovely and I would defo go again. Value for money... Definitely ... Top class

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppyonetooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal's Own also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing