We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressive gallery”

The Biscuit Factory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Biscuit Factory is the UK’s largest art, craft & design gallery set in the heart of Newcastle’s cultural quarter. Housed in a former Victorian warehouse, our beautiful gallery spaces are set over two floors and display a range of exciting contemporary fine art, sculpture, original prints and jewellery, quality craftsmanship and design led homewares. The Biscuit Factory hosts four major exhibitions a year, representing the work of around 250 artists each season, so there is always something new to see every time you visit.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Impressive gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely place with lots of good mainstream art, and all for sale. Interesting old building too. Be warned though, it can be expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank catface41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    104
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean, inspirational, friendly , delightful , I've been here a few times over the years and today's trip was just as food as all precious ones , this time we had time to visit the cafe for a slice of gluten free lemon drizzle and and green tea , it was delicious , it's so nice at the biscuit factory a must visit for anyone and everyone

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent gallery shame about the cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I would recommend a visit to the Biscuit Factory as the range of art for sale is very good indeed and the place itself is nice to walk around. The only negative point is that the café is over priced and some of the staff have no concept of customer service. When you walk up to the counter and there are five members of staff behind the counter you don't expect to be ignored for five minutes while they are "busy" doing other things.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Looking forward to Ashley Jackson "Chasing Light" Exhibition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Love the warmth of the gallery experience, plus lovely cafe (can recomend the BLT).
Really looking forward to viewing Ashley Jackson's watercolour exhibition "Chasing Light" coming up around the 19th October - shall be making a special visit for this as his paintings of moorland landscapes are certainly atmospheric.Last saw his paintings at the Laing Gallery in 2008 certainly worth taking a look.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loveroflandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not what it once was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I have been visitors to the buscuit factory for years and have bought a number of pieces from the gallery. There is no doubt it is an excellent building almost perfect for a gallery.

We have just visited and it was the shortest ever! It was boring. When will artists and the gallery move on from the tyne bridge tynemouth and local beaches. We left disappointed there was very little that made you stop study think and find interesting. I fear it will be a long time before we go back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CauldLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBiscuitFactory, Manager at The Biscuit Factory, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to The Biscuit Factory. I am sorry that you did not enjoy this particular trip to the gallery, especially in light of this being a repeat visit for yourself and your wife. We very much appreciate your continued loyalty to the gallery and for the very kind words regarding our building and space. We are incredibly proud of The Biscuit Factory and work very hard to ensure a standard of presentation throughout, from small gifts in SHOP right through to our premier exhibition space. Please allow me this opportunity therefore to respond to the other aspects outlined in your review.

It is absolutely true that we represent many local artists and therefore a selection of the work that we display has a local or regional flavour. These works are indeed very popular by both local residents and visitors from outside of the region looking for a memento of their visit. Whilst we are a privately owned commercial art gallery we have also become a thriving tourist destination and so we take great pride in championing and providing a platform for local artists on a national scale.

However, as the UK's largest art, craft and design gallery we recognise we have a duty to represent what we believe is the very best of work from the region and beyond. As such we meticulously organise our programming to ensure we have a diverse, rich and varied offering in the gallery at any one time, from perspectives of subject matter, medium and price point.

Our ethos as a gallery is to approach our curatorial choices with only quality in mind, understanding and somewhat expecting that these very choices will often divide opinion and not always be to everyone's personal taste. Such are the vagaries of art and such is the reason that I can imagine led to your review.

I would very much welcome further feedback and suggestions perhaps of the kind of work that you would like to see in the gallery and I hope to be able to see you and your wife in the gallery in the future. If you would like to get in touch please do email art@thebiscuitfactory.com or call me on 0191 261 1103.

Kindest Regards
Rachel Brown
Gallery Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Biscuit Factory also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Biscuit Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing