We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food prices to suit every one”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jingling Gate

The Jingling Gate
Ranked #389 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub Restaurant
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty food prices to suit every one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I often have lunch with friends at the Jingling Gate and the food is always good. The fact that you can pick from a variety of prices means that a nice lunch with friends is always affordable in a nice atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompas155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    23
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“food not so good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Decided on a Bank Holiday Monday late meal, around 9.30pm. I'm afraid not impressed, it was quiet so little atmosphere staff were not that attentive. However one girl at the bar was very good and the same Lovely girl served us, very nice and lots of personality.

Food, we both chose the beef and ale pie, ok for presentation and portion size, but needed a saw to tackle cutting that pastry! Would try again but not too soon until meals improve.

Trish

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Easter Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This used to be one of my regular haunts, but it had been a while since my last visit so booked myself, partner and 4 children in at half two. As I remembered it, we weren't disappointed. Fantastic roast meals, turkey and chicken cooked to perfection, crisp roasties but still fluffy in the middle, lovely gravy and well cooked veg. Very reasonably priced and can't recommend highly enough. Can't wait to return.....

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

A friendly local pub (though the owners are Suffolk based Greene King). The menu is typical of the pub chains but don't let that put you off. The food is freshly prepared and the 2 meals for £10 represent amazing value. 4 of us ate there, all had different meals and all were happy with their choice.
The staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“loverly staff and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

staff went out of there way for me fantastic food I had the salmon salad was amazing well presented. Popcorn ice cream was amazing very nice to my kids they also loved it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jingling Gate also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Heddon-on-the-Wall, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Jingling Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing