We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms and excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and excellent staff.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times, in the Liberty suites and the penthouse. We've never been disappointed with our stay. The rooms are well appointed and have plenty of character and space. Staff have always been helpful and polite, special mention to Mark on reception who went out of his way to change our room at short request on Valentine's Day to one we'd previously enjoyed, and had even gone to the trouble of carrying our bags to our room. Highly recommended. Our top pick in Newcasstle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuffgong08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    59
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
236
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Spacious and clean boutique apartment-hotel in the heart of Newcastle at a very reasonable price. Very quiet area and very close to the main train station. It is such a shame that there is no sitting areas to entertain non paying guests after 10pm near the reception/ entrance. Staff are attentive and accommodating. Thanks to Cara and Mark for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teaf0rTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I often stay away in Newcastle for Business, and this was the first time that I had stayed in an apart hotel, and really enjoyed my stay.

Upon arrival I was met with a lovely young receptionist who was very professional and helpful. I was given a room in the basement, which meant that you didn't have much natural light - however As i was staying in november, and just for the night - not a lot would be seen anyway.

The room was very big and had everything you would need. It had a dining area, lounge area, desk working area also the kitchenette. The bedroom was up a couple of steps and was roomy. The bed was large and very comfortable.

I could not fault the room or service at all.

There was a fridge in reception that you could purchase food to cook in your apartment for dinner. Breakfast was continental and again was in reception for you to collect and then take to your room to eat. Personally i missed having a nice cooked breakfast which normally then lasts me the day.

The location of this hotel is good. Its around a 10 minute walk from the station and city centre. You need to look at the map to get there as you need to turn right out of the station, right road on the left to the end and then left again, walk around 5 minutes and its there in front of you. Its still central but away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

In all I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I loved the basement room i had, as really roomy, however wasn't great for natural daylight if n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Treeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was my first time using an aparthotel and the experience was really good. Roomzzz staff were outstanding and the quality and cleanliness of the room and all its facilities were excellent.
the room was equipped really well with microwave, oven and hob, comfortable seating in the lounge, good bedroom and small but great walk in shower and en suite. The location is great, within walking distance of the shops and The Herb Garden restaurant close by was worth a visit. Parking is a bit of a challenge, as it is in all major cities. There are essential supplies available in reception area, milk, ice cream :), ready meal.... and a good grab and go coffee and croissant in the morning if you can't be bothered to make your own breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My Family and I stayed for 2 nights, the apartment was large, very clean, comfortable. My Mum said that she did not want to go out when she saw her apartment. It was quiet to other parts of Newcastle, you could possibly hear the occasional train, but that is much better than the party goers at 2am, as it is a bit (a few minutes walk) out of the way, it is so much quieter than other places in town. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelp300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and i stayed here on 03/01/2014 and stayed in the Grande Studio suite in the basement. The room was exceptional with beautiful decor and very clean. We booked direct via the Roomzzzz website and got the best deal, we payed only £63. The location was ideal and was within walking distance to shops and restaurants. There is no onsite parking but we parked at the metered spaces under the bridge right outside, it was only £1 per hour (maximum 2 hours) and no charge between 5pm and 8am so essentially free overnight parking!

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Free wifi! ask at reception for password!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leepatrickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was my second stay at Roomzzz Newcastle. Like last time, the apartment itself was great - spacious, nicely decorated and with a modern feel. I was in the basement but that didn't matter as the apartment was so nice and I was out during daylight hours in any case. The receptionists were extremely helpful, and I liked the grab and go breakfast, which was all I need at that time of day. But like last time, the soundproofing was a real issue. I had work commitments in Newcastle meaning I needed early nights and early mornings. I didn't have a single good night's sleep due to people talking and moving about in the upstairs flat. I don't think they were being especially noisy, so it wouldn't have been fair to ask them to stop talking as soon as 10.30 came around, but the soundproofing is so poor that I couldn't help but be disturbed. Sadly, I won't be going back. I regret this as everything else - location, space, friendliness of staff etc. is fantastic and just what I'm looking for - but I ended the week exhausted because of lack of sleep. What a pity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyFlower535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Property: Roomzzz Newcastle City
Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing