We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Completely endorse what other reviewers have said, even down to the fire alarm going off early on Sunday morning! I was also woken a couple of times by footsteps in the room above (soundproofing issue?), also twice by running water caused by another guest flooding the wetroom (!) two floors above us in the middle of the night. I have marked the sleep quality score down because of the soundproofing issue, not due to the thoughtless guest. The staff were highly professional and efficient. We had a room in the semi-basement with no view and which was a little on the dark side, but we were out all day so really weren't bothered. Highly recommended. I don't like the name Roomzz though-makes it sound more down-market than it actually is!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleyg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    61
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
243
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Such good value - beautifully fitted, immaculate room on two levels. Great quirky converted building. Everything we could have wished for. Reception very friendly and professional. Good location, 5 mins from city centre. Hoping the Leeds version is as good! Would recommend 100%

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is great value for money, room was amazing and alot bigger than expected. We were greeted by freindly staff in reception and given a room right next that was located steps from the check in desk we initially thought that this may mean that we were going to be woken up with people coming in and out but this was not the case. was pleasantly surprised that we had an up and downstairs room and outside noise was minimal.

Fire alarm woke up up about 6.30 on Sunday morning... not ideal but staff were very apologetic and provided us with an extended check out meaning for the inconvience meaning we got to stayin the lovely hotel for an extra 2hours. Excellent service.

Room had everything you could ask for of a weekend stay. Would definitaly reccomend this hotel and hope to return in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

having left my stay until last minute in Newcastle i decided to pitch for the Roomzz Aparthotel. Upon arrival i was met by a helpful, friendly and professional receptionist who was happy to help with any queries. The room was immaculate, well decorated and offered somethi9ng totally different to the large group rooms i tend to stay in. Fresh decoration, excellent bed and shower. Definitely recommend to anyone and will stay there again. Really pleased

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leehill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

As others have said, this hotel is great value for money. The apartment was much bigger than I'd anticipated, with lovely modern decor. The views aren't great, which didn't particularly bother me, but the apartment (first floor) did feel rather dark. The kitchen is well-equipped, everything you could possibly want, and the staff are friendly and attentive. The location is great if you're arriving by train, it's less than 5 minutes walk from the station, tucked away from the main thoroughfares but close to everything Newcastle has to offer - shops, quayside, cathedral etc. The room temperatures were rather high - windows only open a little way and as it was a mild weekend there wasn't much of a through breeze. Didn't matter too much for a mild October weekend (though it made it a bit hard to sleep) but I wouldn't like to be there on a hot summer's night. Soundproofing between rooms could be better - every time the people in the room above me moved around it sounded like the ceiling was about to come down. However, these were fairly minor irritants, overall I had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyFlower535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked into a Liberty Suite and this came with all you would expect from a furnished apartment. We only met two members of staff but both were very friendly, polite and helpful. Our flight arrived early so we got to the hotel far too early to check-in but we were able to store our bags and take the very short walk into the city centre. When we returned our bags were waiting in our room. As mentioned before, the room was well-equipped but also very comfortable, clean and spacious. The complimentary breakfast, though basic, was also a welcome surprise. On the whole, nothing to criticise and we would have no hesitation in retuning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel, excellent facilities (they have free croissants, coffee, fruit and cereal at reception for you to help yourself and take back to your room for breakfast, they even have pizzas and pasta in fridges at supermarket prices at reception for if you get peckish!), great price and location and friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 201 where we stayed is huge, the receptionist said it's her personal favourite. Can see why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Property: Roomzzz Newcastle City
Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing