We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

As others have said, this hotel is great value for money. The apartment was much bigger than I'd anticipated, with lovely modern decor. The views aren't great, which didn't particularly bother me, but the apartment (first floor) did feel rather dark. The kitchen is well-equipped, everything you could possibly want, and the staff are friendly and attentive. The location is great if you're arriving by train, it's less than 5 minutes walk from the station, tucked away from the main thoroughfares but close to everything Newcastle has to offer - shops, quayside, cathedral etc. The room temperatures were rather high - windows only open a little way and as it was a mild weekend there wasn't much of a through breeze. Didn't matter too much for a mild October weekend (though it made it a bit hard to sleep) but I wouldn't like to be there on a hot summer's night. Soundproofing between rooms could be better - every time the people in the room above me moved around it sounded like the ceiling was about to come down. However, these were fairly minor irritants, overall I had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyFlower535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 514 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked into a Liberty Suite and this came with all you would expect from a furnished apartment. We only met two members of staff but both were very friendly, polite and helpful. Our flight arrived early so we got to the hotel far too early to check-in but we were able to store our bags and take the very short walk into the city centre. When we returned our bags were waiting in our room. As mentioned before, the room was well-equipped but also very comfortable, clean and spacious. The complimentary breakfast, though basic, was also a welcome surprise. On the whole, nothing to criticise and we would have no hesitation in retuning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel, excellent facilities (they have free croissants, coffee, fruit and cereal at reception for you to help yourself and take back to your room for breakfast, they even have pizzas and pasta in fridges at supermarket prices at reception for if you get peckish!), great price and location and friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 201 where we stayed is huge, the receptionist said it's her personal favourite. Can see why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friend and I booked Roomzzz for a Saturday night in Newcastle, and were really pleased with the value for money. It is a very short walk from the station (guests should note there is no on site parking), and as we arrived before check in time the receptionist offered to store our bags which were then waiting in our apartment when we arrived back. We stayed in a 1 bed which was at the top of the building, and the apartment seemed very newly decorated. The kitchen and bathroom were well equipped and also very clean. There was a complimentary continental breakfast available in reception the next morning (pastries etc). The only issue with the apartment was the temperature - it wasn't particularly hot outside however our apartment was roasting! There were freestanding fans in the bedroom and lounge which definitely helped. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed in the Penthouse on a weeknight for a great price. What a fabulous duplex apartment! Spacious and stylish, with iMac ready to go - This apartment was worth every penny! The building is beautifully renovated, and centrally located, it was only a 5-10minute walk into Central Station and the Centre For Life. Love the grab 'n' go breakfasts included in the price. Staff were friendly. Parking outside the venue is limited, and there were no free spaces on our arrival so we parked in the station and walked over. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katchooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a base for a day and night in Newcastle and found it really handy.
The apartment is very smart with high end fixtures and fittings and a very nice shower room. The reception desk adds the assurance of hotel. The pantry and 'grab and go' breakfast are perfect for those on business but I would take something if you want a more substantial start to the day.
The only small complaint was that we found a pair of lady's underwear and tights in one of the bedside draws.
All in all a great alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulg793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I only stayed here one night on business which is a shame as it’s a great place that should be enjoyed.

Location is OK – 5 or so minute walk from Central station (turn right and carry on round into Westgate, under the arch and there it is – neon Roomzzzz sign on the side of the building. Pity the view out of the window is a patch of derelict land!

The rooms I had were in Apartment 204 which consisted of a large living room/dining area/kitchen and office space with a separate bedroom with a window looking into the living area and a bathroom with a great walk in shower. Kitchen seemed to provide all you need if you wanted to make anything and there are coffee and tea facilities (bit stingy but more downstairs if you run out).

Breakfast is provided in a alcove by the front door with warm pastries, cereals, fruit and juices for you to grab and go or take back to the room. That’s OK in my book.

Member of staff on reception was very friendly and helpful.

Paid £105 for the night and well worth it

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMiggins46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $95 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing