We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous apartments!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

There is very little I can add to the previous reviews about these lovely apartments. We stayed from 4th-6th August for a city break. They are so well situated- only 5mins from the train station and a short walk from all the amenities Newcastle has to offer. My husband and I were in no 104 and it was stunning. The room was immaculately clean with very nice,modern furnishings, the refurbishment of this building has been so nicely done. We paid £150 for two nights and this was an absolute bargain. We would definately recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhillscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 529 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We decided to have a child free evening in Newcastle and happened upon this place via late rooms. We paid around as much as a premier inn for a one bedroomed apartment!
Upon arrival we found it was a 2 minute walk from the station and the quayside was another 5-10 minute walk from there. Check in was easy and we paid an extra £10 to check in early which we felt was reasonable considering check in is 3pm and we arrived at 12 :) Claire on reception was the perfect balance between professionalism and fun and graciously laughed at my husbands poor attempts at a joke ;)
Room (204) was fab! Lovely comfortable bed in a separate room with a huge living area with sofas, flat screen tv, dining area with separate breakfast bar and kitchenette, all tastefully decorated. After having a fantastic night out in Newcastle (highly recommend bar luga on grey street for food and cocktails) had a great night sleep and a lovely little coffee and snack from the grab and go breakfast corner (which although not a full choice for breakfast was a nice quirky touch considering this is sc. apartments!) before heading out for a proper breakfast.
Definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Roomzzz recently opened after a very tasteful remodel of the Friar House. The rooms are more like apartments than hotel rooms, as they are spacious and modern. It is conveniently located within walking distance of the train station and downtown Newcastle. Ideal for business travel--however, our room was more than spacious enough for family travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcribcombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had been tempted by the #1 rating in TripAdvisor to book this hotel first but ended up spending only our second and third night in Newcastle here. And as others have written, we didn’t want to leave, but unfortunately they were booked solid for the weekend.

As others have also written, Roomzzz is located very close to the central rail station and also just a three-minute walk from the banks of the Tyne. The historic building has been beautifully and tastefully renovated with a stylish reception area.

We were unprepared for our room, however, which turned out to be a duplex apartment: an entrance foyer leading into a spacious living room area with round dining room table, a fully equipped spotlessly clean kitchen - all on the first floor with high ceilings providing a grand feeling of space. Then down the stairs to a beautiful bedroom tastefully designed, very comfortable bed, large stylish and practical shower area with stone flooring adjoining.

We don’t understand some of the rare complaints in the reviews here – granted there isn't a view but the stylish interior, the comfortable furnishings, and the lush thick curtains and drapes more than make up for that lack. And we found having the bedroom “in the basement” was cozy and romantic.

We had two excellent flat screen televisions – one on each floor – and could’ve borrowed an iPad if we hadn’t had our own tablets.

The service was very friendly and helpful and made us really feel at home with friendly chats about our outings. We also appreciated the fresh fruit available as well as the delicious freshly brewed coffee at reception.

Roomzzz deserves #1 status – this is THE place we’d choose on a return trip to Newcastle, and after our stay here we’re looking forward to trying other Roomzzz hotels in other cities too.

Room Tip: We had the Liberty duplex suite right off reception - truly wonderful but we'd love to try the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having travel to many hotels around the world I have to say that the staff at roomzzz Newcastle were out of this world. The concierge was amazing so professional but still personal it really made our stay brilliant. I don't normally leave reviews but credit where it is due 10 stars. Hotel was of a high standard and well maintained. Would recommend for anything from stag doo's to romantic breaks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottdowen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely designed room with plenty of space, a large living room with sofa, dining table, fully equipped kitchen - it was more like a hotel apartment. Strange though that the bathroom was very, very small...
Our room was next to reception and entrance so it was a bit noisy at times eg when the hotel staff held a cheerful and chatty handover talk at 7 in the morning...
I am not a fan of the "grab and Go" Breakfast concept and prefer a decent breakfast but I guess that cuts cost and ultimately reflects in the great overall value for money you get with this hotel.
Location close to central station, city centre, river Tyne in walking distance.
Would definitely recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAbuDhabi_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wont go anywhere else now. It's spotless and that's what I love about it, literally the CLEANEST place i've stayed in the city. You can get a membership card thing if you travel a lot and it adds up points every time you stay so you can get room upgrades and things, so deffo worth it if you are a frequent traveller.

I stayed in a studio but it was huge. Kitchen had everything you need apart from a chopping board (although i didn't actively look for one I just noticed it wasn't there). Bathroom is lovely too, free toiletries are a bit limited though as it's only one small tube of body wash and a tube of shampoo. It's clean, quiet and tucked away from the main street. What more could you want? You do get noise from the trains if you have the windows open but it's not unbearable or that loud.

You get free unlimited hot drinks from the coffee machine in the lobby! It's awesome :)
More suited for if you're staying a few days away but totally fine for an overnight stay too, just depends if you want to make your own dinner or not. Breakfast is some pastries and juice in the lobby, you can 'grab and go' but I didn't try them so can't comment on how they taste e.t.c.
Such a lovely hotel though, my fave by far!

Some people have said it's over the hills and far away but it's not (to me anyway). You can walk to the metro (central station) in under a minute, it's literally round the corner and up the road. Tesco is just a little further on up the road if you need some bits or just pop to sainsburys in the train station.

Deffo going to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $94 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing