We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having travel to many hotels around the world I have to say that the staff at roomzzz Newcastle were out of this world. The concierge was amazing so professional but still personal it really made our stay brilliant. I don't normally leave reviews but credit where it is due 10 stars. Hotel was of a high standard and well maintained. Would recommend for anything from stag doo's to romantic breaks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottdowen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Roomzzz Newcastle City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 509 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely designed room with plenty of space, a large living room with sofa, dining table, fully equipped kitchen - it was more like a hotel apartment. Strange though that the bathroom was very, very small...
Our room was next to reception and entrance so it was a bit noisy at times eg when the hotel staff held a cheerful and chatty handover talk at 7 in the morning...
I am not a fan of the "grab and Go" Breakfast concept and prefer a decent breakfast but I guess that cuts cost and ultimately reflects in the great overall value for money you get with this hotel.
Location close to central station, city centre, river Tyne in walking distance.
Would definitely recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAbuDhabi_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wont go anywhere else now. It's spotless and that's what I love about it, literally the CLEANEST place i've stayed in the city. You can get a membership card thing if you travel a lot and it adds up points every time you stay so you can get room upgrades and things, so deffo worth it if you are a frequent traveller.

I stayed in a studio but it was huge. Kitchen had everything you need apart from a chopping board (although i didn't actively look for one I just noticed it wasn't there). Bathroom is lovely too, free toiletries are a bit limited though as it's only one small tube of body wash and a tube of shampoo. It's clean, quiet and tucked away from the main street. What more could you want? You do get noise from the trains if you have the windows open but it's not unbearable or that loud.

You get free unlimited hot drinks from the coffee machine in the lobby! It's awesome :)
More suited for if you're staying a few days away but totally fine for an overnight stay too, just depends if you want to make your own dinner or not. Breakfast is some pastries and juice in the lobby, you can 'grab and go' but I didn't try them so can't comment on how they taste e.t.c.
Such a lovely hotel though, my fave by far!

Some people have said it's over the hills and far away but it's not (to me anyway). You can walk to the metro (central station) in under a minute, it's literally round the corner and up the road. Tesco is just a little further on up the road if you need some bits or just pop to sainsburys in the train station.

Deffo going to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here in April, had a truly lovely time. The room was spacious and clean, and it had such character. Close access to the city centre, which for a city break, is a must! Will most certainly stay again!
Cant wait to visit this wonderful city again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had never stayed in an apart-hotel before, but the prices were very competitive when compared to hotels when we were searching for somewhere to stay in Newcastle, so we decided to give it a try.

Roomzzz have several apartment hotels in the North, and opened their Newcastle one where we stayed last November. We went for a liberty suite that offered a living area with kitchenette, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. We paid just under £90 a night for our five night stay by booking around 2 months in advance, under their lowest price guaranteed scheme, and booking online was easy and fast, with confirmation of the booking sent straight through to my email.

Check-in is from 3pm but when we arrived at 1pm on our check-in day we were told that we could check straight in with no extra charge (their website suggests this should cost £10, if you wish to check-in early).

The location of the hotel was ideal for our stay, as we arrived by train at Newcastle’s main train station, and Roomzzz is just a five minute walk away, tucked in a small road behind the station. The road was very quiet (despite being so close to the train station), and we soon got used to the noise of the odd train passing which was not an issue at all – even with windows open.
The building is a converted period property and has retained its period charm whilst appearing modern at the same time. Photos and artefacts relating to the building’s former life have been framed and hung around the corridors of the building which is a nice touch.

Our room was 302, on the top floor of the hotel. Upon walking in to the “room” for the first time we were amazed by how much space we had – it really was an apartment, rather than a room, which although the “apart-hotel” tag suggested this, we were still pleasantly surprised.

The living area was lovely with dark wooden flooring, high ceilings, sash windows and a skylight window as well as quality furniture that fitted in with the rest of the decor. There was also a glass coffee table, a glass desk and a glass dining table with chairs, as well as a large flatscreen TV which had composite audio visual connections which allowed us to connect our ipad to the TV for further viewing options (free wifi is included throughout your stay). The kitchen had a hob, microwave, oven, fridge, dishwasher and sink and all the basics you could need (such as dishwasher tabs) were provided throughout our stay. The cupboards had lots of cutlery, crockery and cookware so if we had wanted to do a lot of cooking we’d have been fine . We only used the microwave one or two times, but it appeared quite complicated the first time and there was no manual so my husband had to google the model number online to find out how to work it! A manual would be a good addition.

The bedroom was beautiful with quality white bed linen, contemporary cushions and throws and one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. There was also a second flatscreen TV in the bedroom, as well as a direct dial telephone (with free local and national calls) and a dark wooden open-style wardrobe. An ironing board and iron was also provided.

The bathroom was very nice with clean lines and a calm ambience helped by the ceiling lighting which was not too bright and harsh. The power shower performed well and the only downside I could find with it is that I would have preferred a non fixed head to shower more effectively and it to be at the correct height (I’m 5’4” and my husband is 6’5”, but the shower fitting was fixed to the shower ceiling).

Breakfast is provided in your room rate on a “grab and go” basis for you to either bring back up to your room or take out with you. The selection is quite limited, but OK – small cartons of fruit juice, hot drinks (via a hot drinks machine), fruit and pre-packaged pastries.

You can also purchase other food and drink all day from the “Pantry”, which are some fridges near reception. This includes ready meals, chocolate and milk and although quite expensive, saves a trip to the nearest supermarket (which is a Sainsburys local in the station).

There is also a laundry room downstairs in the basement which houses a washing machine and dryer for you to wash and dry your clothes. This is great if you are travelling light! The info online and in the in-room info pamphlet says that washing powder is provided but there was none in the laundry room and we were told by reception we had to pay 50p for a washing tablet when we did some washing. Not a huge expense and not a problem at all, but it did leave us wondering why the in-room pamphlet was incorrect.

The other inaccuracy in the information in the room relates to air conditioning, It tells you that the air con in your room is set to 18 degrees and gives you info on how to change it, but there is no air con! We checked with reception and they confirmed it is an error as the rooms do not have air-conditioning. This was not good news as it was unseasonably hot in the North East during our stay. However, after we asked for a fan to cool the room down, one was provided the next day. And we were asked if we wanted to move downstairs to a cooler room, although as we had unpacked and were quite at home by this point we declined!

The staff were all very helpful, polite and courteous at all times and the hotel was exceptionally clean – it looked brand new! We enjoyed our stay immensely and hope to return again in the future.

**We stayed for 5 nights from 8 July 2013**

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsboo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in the Newcastle Roomzz for one night and my initial impression of the outside area was not great! However, the building housing Roomzz is amazing inside and outside. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and told about the accommodation. We stayed on the 1st floor and our room was AMAZING! Stylish modern decor and spacious! Could not fault it! Fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LejlaKevric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

In a convenient location within easy reach of the train station and city centre.
We stayed in the penthouse suite, a very spacious, clean, well equipped room with a nice bathroom and well stocked kitchen albeit there was no air conditioning which left the room a bit stuffy so the windows had to be open at all times.
The bed was comfy but there was a lot of noise from the trains as the room was very close to the train station waking us up early in the morning.
There's a free laundry room but it is very hot and stuffy and washing and drying clothes took over 3 hours.
However, there was a complimentary tea and coffee machine along with a complimentary grab and go breakfast bar serving a variety of packaged pastries which was convenient for us to just take back to the room.
Overall an enjoyable stay with friendly helpful staff, but a little bit noisy and hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $87 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing