We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Buffet”
Review of No. 1 Oriental Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No. 1 Oriental Buffet
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Evening Buffet”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great choice of buffet food, friendly staff only downside is decor is a bit dated. Was nice to see staff eating in the restaurant. Food clearly labelled and was regularly topped up with fresh food while we were dining. My son was impressed with the self service Mr Whippy machine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Groupon Voucher Visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Visited using a Groupon voucher but would have been as cheap without it! Good variety of dishes, only negative point restaurant felt a little like a school canteen!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant at lunchtime today. this is our 3rd visit as we go once a year. We have tried 1 other restaurant down this street but return to this one as the quality of food is better

Lots of choice and all hot. Usually expect warm food at a buffet but it was all piping hot today.

Usually a Chinese is very salty. If anything this Chinese is under salty but hey how can you complain when it isn't salted so you can salt to your liking

they used to have a chocolate fountain but don't now but this is no problem and I don't blame them for getting rid

We will be back next year

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorklass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good value - nice food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cost around £6 each for the buffet in the afternoon, Lots of choice and drinks were very cheap too. Would go again and recommend to others! Just hope the ice cream (whippy) machine is fixed by then, although the tubbed alternative was fine.
Hmmmm - Getting hungry thinking about it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ToonPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not good value for money anymore.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Been going to this restaurant for about 2 years now once a week. was all ways quite happy with the food good value for money. lately though the last few months we have noticed a difference price gone up quality gone down. Last night will be our last time there for a while unless things improve. No draught lager, deserts not good empty plate where there had been gateau, asked a staff member if there was any more, but no there wasn't, ice cream machine not working, been like that for at least 4 months now. Not good. Gill, Brian

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 1 Oriental Buffet also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing