We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fascinating behind-the-scenes tour

Brought back so many memories, but also so much modern technology! Very capably led by Geordie and... read more

Reviewed today
Maureen D
,
Washington, United Kingdom
An excellent tour enjoyed by all

We had a tour with the BBC from a specialist college for young adults with ASD. The tour was... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
clarantino
,
Durham
Read all 244 reviews
  
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
233
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
233
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews radio play behind the scenes the pink palace sound effects radio drama radio studio horrible histories news desk radio station local news news room green screen blue peter badge control room school visit great fun fun afternoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 244 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

We loved the BBC Newcastle children’s tour. Our guides Julia and Jordy were fantastic. Energetic, fun, captivating and interactive. We had the best afternoon. Totally recommend that you go.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBBCTours, General Manager at BBC Newcastle Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Hi Caroline

Thank you so much for this great review, Julie and Jordy will be delighted to hear that you an your family enjoyed their presentation so much.

Please do help us spread the good word!

Thanks

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Took my 3 grandchildren for the BBC Children’s tour. It was absolutely brilliant. From the staff looking after us, thanks Geordie. We spent time learning about how news was presented and met Colin Briggs. He was lovely and took time to explain how he worked.

We saw the set of Hetty Feather and there was lots of interaction for the children. Lots of games along the way which kept the children interested.

Would recommend this for a half day out.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank janjan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBBCTours, General Manager at BBC Newcastle Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Hi Jan

So happy to hear that you and your grandchildren all had such a great time on your tour.

Colin is great isn't he? He always has been a huge supported of the tours and he loves meeting "his fans" as we jokingly like to say!

I hope you took lots of photos on the set of Hetty Feather and during the tour so you can show everyone how much fun you had as a family, as not many other attractions suit families with all ages! Plus when the grandchildren are all grown up you can embarrass them with the photo of them dressed like a Victorian :-)

Thanks again

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

We had a great tour with Victoria & Megan today of the BBC’s “Pink Palace.”
We were able to play at being News’ Readers and Radio 4 actors. We saw the wonderful BBC costumes for Hetty Feather; the Radio Studio; the wall of BBC staff photos; Dr Who’s Tardis; the elephant that is being painted with famous Geordie celebrities; the old news’ reels in the Library; and the Gallery from where it is all controlled with the clock spelling out the time in seconds. I always say that you can set your watch by the BBC! It was a very entertaining two hours & gave us enormous insights into the professionalism of the BBC.
Well done, Victoria & Megan! You are BBC stars! Suzanne

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Susanna0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBBCTours, General Manager at BBC Newcastle Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Hi Suzanne

WOW! that's such a great review and your guides will be delighted to hear you all enjoyed their presentation so much #girlpower

I hope you get to see Alfie Joey's completed Elmer the Elephant on the St. Oswald's Elmer parade (Give Elmer's Parade a Google for dates and details).

Thanks again for your review, please spread the word for us!

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

I booked this tour as an activity for the Media and Culture Society and all the students loved it. Hopefully it gave them some useful inspiration for their future careers. Thank you to Jordy and Simon for being incredible tour guides!

Thanks,
Jennifer

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBBCTours, General Manager at BBC Newcastle Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Hi Jennifer


Thank you for this great tour review, from the view point of an educational field trip.

Our tour is ideal suited to student groups just like yours as well as Journalism students etc too and so its great to hear that we delivered as a teaching tool for you.

If you should re book in future, please do ask the booking line for my contact details as I can try to increase content in areas that could make the tour yet more suited to your studies. We have arranged this many times before, but we do need a little notice.

Thanks again
Tony


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

A great insight in to how the local news is produced on tv and radio, alongside other programmes. Led by Tony, Victoria and Katy who were very enthusiastic and made it such a fantastic morning out. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBBCTours, General Manager at BBC Newcastle Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Hi Julia

We hugely appreciated this very kind review, and we are always delighted to hear that our guest enjoyed their time within their local BBC Studios.

Spread the word

Thanks so much
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews