We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find :-)”

The Northumbrian Piper
Ranked #232 of 1,330 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept secrets, serving as a welcoming watering hole for residents of the town's Red House Farm Estate, Great Park and the surrounding areas. But now the word is officially out and discerning diners from across the region are descending upon and discovering the culinary treasures of this stunning, hidden gem.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Went for our first visit last night and what a fantastic find it was.

For starters we had:
Soup - leek and potato (they said was the nicest soup have had)
Fish cake - also went down well
I shared a sharing platter - it all was beautiful and hot and well presented.

Mains:
- steak and ale pie - went down very well.
- steak - thought was very good quality
- surf and turf - I had this and was beautiful, the steak was cooked well and tasty and the scampi I have to say was the best I've had - cooked to perfection.

The staff were friendly and welcoming.

We will definitely be back - we all agreed was the best meal out we've had in a long long time!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Well hat a great review it's makes us all so happy here when people who have never been before place such great comments on the food and the staff. We strive here to only provide good quality homemade honest food and it appears people like yourselves are recognising the difference between us and the other pub food. So often these days you go for a meal and might not want something on a dish but as it's already prepared they can't take it out. Please come again soon and tell your friends. Many thanks again and the team will be delighted .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 280 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went back to the Piper for lunch to meet an old friend who I hadn't seen for a while. Dave had an omelette and I went for the gammon steak (with both egg and pineapple naturally) and both were absolutely delicious. The service was excellent, the staff were friendly and I recommend this place to anyone looking for great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gofaryoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thanks for your great review is it very much appreciated by the whole team here are the Piper. We like to serve great quality food home cooked like it used to be before the days of the ding ding food. Great to hear you came back and chose the Piper for your reunion and great to see that you enjoyed the food. Please come back soon and tell your friends. You review seemed to have allowed us into the top 10% of places to eat in Newcastle which for us is Fantastic. thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Really suprised by how nice the food is here !

Sunday lunch is fantastic. Plenty of choice, no waiting for tables and great service. Home cooked food - no frozen crap.

We also had a groupon offer for a Burger and it was also fantastic.

Well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingSalesman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Well thank you very much for your great review it really is appreciated here by us all. We strive to be diffferent from the chains of pubs that serve the same food every day. We like to be independant in our food offerings thats why we make it all ourselves usiing quality ingrediants to produce tasty real food. Please call again when you are passing and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited The Piper yesterday for lunch and were very impressed with both the service and food. We had our three week old baby with us and were pleased to find clean baby changing facilities and very accommodating staff. The food was freshly made and far better than the pre prepared frozen stuff you so often find other pubs serving, and at reasonable prices as well.
A lovely family atmosphere, we will definately be returning and would recommend a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philhep2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Well our 100th review and it's a 5 star thank you so much and congratulations on the birth of you baby you must be brave to be out and about so early . Glad our changing facilities were up to muster and that you recornised the effort that goes into our food offering. As you say we like to think its refreshing to serve proper food made by us and not out of bag. Rare these days with all companies trying to maximise profits. We are independent so can offer the option of quality over profit. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I ate here with a small coach party. The service was friendly and exceptionally efficient. The starters were served almost immediately, piping hot (no pun intended), and the vegetarian alternative, though a little odd (a leak and potato cake sandwiched between two discs of crispy potato, with pepper sauce) was delicious. One or two people complained that the tuna steaks weren't pink in the middle, but apart from that the main course looked beautiful and apparently was good. The vegetarian main course, which I had, was a very nice flamiche-y sort of thing filled with mushroom and creamy sauce. I wasn't too sure about the Bailey's cheesecake, but then it's not my sort of thing. Maybe the food wasn't quite five stars, but it was miles better than the usual pub food and the staff were so nice that I can't give four stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SR006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

It's was an absolute pleasure to meet your group booked from Belgium and traveling through the north east and we are so pleased you chose the Piper for a meal stop off. You chose well. Glad the guests enjoyed the food which was chosen by the company and serving 25 guests at once is not an easy task but we felt it went well and you confirmed that with your great review. Apologies that a couple of the tuna steak were not as pink as some guests would have liked. Also pleased you enjoyed your vegetarian option on the mushroom lattice it is nice I've tried it myself. I hope if your group is passing our way again that you choose to come again. Many many thanks .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northumbrian Piper also viewed

Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Northumbrian Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing