We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northumbrian Piper

The Northumbrian Piper
Ranked #317 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept secrets, serving as a welcoming watering hole for residents of the town's Red House Farm Estate, Great Park and the surrounding areas. But now the word is officially out and discerning diners from across the region are descending upon and discovering the culinary treasures of this stunning, hidden gem.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good home cooking with a touch of refinement
staff and surroundings soooooooooooooooooooo relaxing close to home easy to walk have done many time and will again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Y50alh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Your excellent review is so very much appreciated. It show us that we are doing things right and it's a great boost to management and the team to know this as economic conditions are difficult for everyone and especially the pub industry. It's good to know that our policy of using quality ingredients and home made food is the right one. It's easy to look at costs and reduce them by using free prepared or chef prepared food as its cheaper to buy but we believe in real food and that is what you get here and people can taste the difference. Thanks again and please continue to come and tell your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    50
    29
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome and great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited the Northumbrian Piper earlier this month after a friend mentioned it to us. The pub is in a beautiful building, tucked away in a tranquil spot so even going in things were looking good. The staff were very friendly, acknowledging us immediately and serving us promptly. I had an omelette and my husband had a burger - both were delicious and my husband said the burger was the best he had tasted (high praise indeed!).

We will certainly be going back soon. I have since read the Northumbrian Piper described as Gosforth's Hidden Gem, this is under-selling it as, having eaten out around the region, I would say the North Easts Hidden Gem! A great dining experience - well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElsSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review which is very much appreciated. Its nice to know that you enjoyed our food and the staff are doing what they are supposed to be doing making you welcome. It is not easy in the current climate but we have stuck to our ethos of providing fresh homemade food using quality ingrediants. Our burgers are hand made by us here using British Steak mince which makes for Tasty meaty burgers. The Omelettes also get some great comments which is nice. Thanks again and we hope that you keep coming and we keep delivering to you every time and dont forget to tell your friends as word of mouth is always the best recomendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“LOVELY JUICY BURGERS,AND GREAT SERVICE AS WELL !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We obtained a 'Group On' deal to try out the Northumbrian Piper,and i think its safe to say we WILL DEFINITELY be going back.
The day before i had a pleasant chat on the phone,and booked our table in advance.There was no need to in truth...It was around 1pm,and there were only about three or four sets of people in.This is probably the only problem which the Piper has....Because of its location,it is the sort of pub that could quite easily be driven straight past,as it is hidden away off the main road.I wasn't complaining though,as it was relatively quiet,and we got excellent service and served right away !
The burgers arrived in a square ciabatta bun,one with extra cheese,one with extra bacon.Both were juicy,tender,and you could tell these burgers were NOT out of a packet ! ...Proper hand made,and tasty.There were loads of chips,again,lovely proper decent chips with bags of flavour,and the salad to the side came dressed in a light oil.Lovely !!
We could only manage a shared dessert which was lovely,chocolattey and moussey and creamy,and the pictures speak for themselves.
The young lad behind the bar was very polite and efficient,and the owner of the pub was there on site as well for a quick friendly chat with more information for us.All in all,the Northumbrian Piper IS a hidden gem,serving good food at reasonable prices,with mighty fine service thrown in for good measure.Tell enough people to make it a popular little place,but shhh,don't tell everyone or it will not be a hidden gem for long !!!
Lovely day.Thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Well thank you so much for your great review. It is very very much appreciated and we would love to see you back anytime. I dont normally do the voucher deals but I was assured by "Living Social" that their deals brought custom in the door and for January which is always a difficult time of year for all pubs/ restaurants. The burgers we created for the LS deal is a steak and mustard burger which we dont serve normally but who knows it might well become a regular as its going down well.
Thanks also for your kind comments about the lad behind the bar as he has only been with us for about 3 weeks and sadly was recently attacked by two people in Newcastle when on a night out and was feeling a little sore. You just made his year and put a smile on everyones face. Hope its a good one for you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Very nice pub not to be missed"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Me and my fiancee were looking for nice place to have sunday lunch,booked on-line,when we got there the staff were very friendly and were seated right away,we both chose pork dinners and the food was on our table within 10 mins and was delicious i must say one of the best weve had.Thank you for a great meal we will defo be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elminto90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Well thank you for your great review and for taking the time out. Glad to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch which is great news. My wife and I often try different places to see what others are offering and we are invariably disappointed. We pride ourselves on using great fresh ingredients good meat and proper mash roasties and yorkshires and we think it shows. Your comments confirm this and I will pass them onto the management and staff who I know will be delighted. Please come again soon and tell your friends we need the custom. Have a great 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited with a friend for post xmas catch up lunch, very nice deco, warm and friendy welcome, good menu and specials selection, I opted for the cod, brie and bacon fish cakes...delicious, my friend had the scampi with real homemade chips, very good portion and value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily-Pond65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
How nice of you to take the time out to give us a great review thank you so much you don't know how appreciated it is. The pub industry is suffering like its never suffered before and we are striving to make the Piper better every day. The bacon and Brie fish cakes are delicious as is the Whitby Scampi from Taylor's of North Shields. Only the best quality here. Thanks again and we hope you have a great 2013 and tell your friends. I will pass your review on to the management and staff as I know it gives them all a boost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northumbrian Piper also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Northumbrian Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing