We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all shabby is chic!!”
Review of Newcastle Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newcastle Rooms
Latchford, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not all shabby is chic!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Broken beds, shower not even high to stand up in, no tv in room, cracked cups, no point having a brew. Window held open with coat hanger, staff indifferent.

What more can I say - oh yes, don't bother!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    19
    22
    91
See reviews for
12
22
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and basic but what do you expect for the price. Clean and staff are friendly and easy to get to town centre. Nice range of food for breakfast. Would stay here again. Cheapest cab is only £4.80 to hotel from town called budget cabs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigh6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Where does one start!
Do not be fooled by the half decent photo from the outside, It is situated in probably the most run down and worst part of Newcastle and is at least a £6 taxi fare into the centre.
We had the misfortune to pay approx £30 each for a twin room that is £60 for a room!
The receptionist was bordering being rude in the way we were greeted, she was looking at her computer screen and trying to bump up the price despite having received confirmation for £60, then demanded a further £10 deposit from each person refundable after they inspected the room on handing in the key. The deposit was not mentioned at all on their web site.
Once inside and past the reception area, this is where you are in for a shock.
The whole place is run down and tired and in urgent need of a makeover, the owners have made absolutely no attempt to make an effort and are only interested in cramming in customers which is a great shame.
The partitioned rooms are very basic, two cheap beds with cheap mattresses, a sink (without a plug) and a couple of tiles with no sealant, a cheap wardrobe and a energy saving bulb that makes the room look dim. The curtains were a joke; they were far too small for the window and only covered about two thirds of the window. There was a kettle in the room for tea or coffee and even the long life milk portions had gone off!
I still feel itchy just thinking about the room and sheets.
The shared shower and toilets were in the corridor and very small and basic, not all the toilets have an outside window and the tiling looked like it was done by a small child using the cheapest white tiles.
The breakfast is just a room with some tables and chairs, some bread for making your own toast and some cereal that nobody wanted and some coffee sachets or tea bags to make your drink, an absolute joke and insult.
I expect a budget hotel to be at a budget price I have no problems with that, I have stayed in the likes of F1 and you pay under £30 for a clean modern room with TV and facilities and that includes more than one guest in per room, but this was absolute daylight robbery.
Every one we spoke to in this place didn't have a single good word to say, and I would be highly suspicious of any rating above two as they would be fictitious to boost ratings.
There were even 5L cans of (rat or pidgin) poison situated around the back of the building
Based on my experience here, I would not recommend this place to anybody, If I could zero rate this I would. Seriously consider paying a little extra and going in or closer to the city centre that way you do not need to pay for a taxi and you will get value for money.
This is not a hotel, and I will never come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meerkat-Truths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday 09/06/2013 party of 11 for a stag night some young guys some old guys so a mixed bunch. First impression was nice building bit like a church we thought. Then the reality kicked in what sort of place is this we have come to stay in.
Firstly they tried to over charge us for the rooms. At £60 for a double room it is daylight robbery. Then we were asked for £10 each as deposit for key, when we asked why they replied to ensure we didn’t damage anything or lose the key. Took half hour to get all the bills sorted out and eventually pay the correct amount.
Then they showed us to the rooms what a shock dump doesn’t even describe this place. It is the scruffiest place I have ever stayed in. Had to kick the door to get into the room the beds were ancient, they had no headboards & mattresses were knackered. Curtains didn’t even fit the window to block the sun out. No bathroom or toilet just a sink and the water pipes vibrated all the time. The shared bathroom / shower was disgusting needed gutting and a good clean.
Tea and coffee making facility in the room but the milk was sour.
The breakfast was a joke everything was stale apart from the orange juice.
I wouldn’t expect my dog to have to pay to stay in a place like this. Basically they run it on a shoe string to get maximum profit, and don’t invest any money on repairs and decoration.
So you have been warned that’s why it’s called Newcastle rooms, because you can’t call it a hotel. I would describe it as at best a scruffy hostel.

Room Tip: Dont pick this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff222186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was expecting the worst from the reviews on here. and if anything it was slightly better than the horror i was expecting. from the outside its quite a nice building but once inside most things are outdated and cheap. an acceptable stay for a night out in town but wouldn't recommend it for any other reasons. Not ideally located either your away from any decent bars. Personally if your heading to newcastle for a night out i'd suggest looking for a room in jesmond somewhere on osborne road, incomparable as an area and ideally located for bars and getting into town. The breakfast was pretty much toast or value cereal.

Room Tip: Look at Osborne Rd. for an ideal base for a toon night out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achrisx89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last weekend. We left for our night out to return to our apartment been broken into got watches stole place got wrecked money stole clothes stole. We left the hotel early that morning and i checked my bank account to find that the hotel illegally took extra £100 out of my bank account which meant after charging us £200 and taking a further £50 on arrival means that they held my bank details for a further month!! Worst hotel experience I have ever had and now have to go through trading standards or possibly contact the police!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Looked at reviews before arriving , so was expecting a dump , and reviews wasn't wrong . Looks ok from the outside , reception area not bad . The room was the pits , carpets minging , black bedding sheets , never took a closer look too see what stains might of been on them . Slept on top off bed , only fell asleep because of the Stella, dread the thought of spending a sober night there . The shower and toilette , was not to my standard , needed flip flops on , floor was greasy dirty , needed to wash your feet after a shower , lucky enough , had baby wipes to wipe my feet down in the room . Me personally wouldn't stay here again ...... It's a dump !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddyfox0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.4 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#54 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Rooms

Property: Newcastle Rooms
Address: Benwell Lane | Benwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 6RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2012, Newcastle Rooms is situated in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. It is a 19th-century church building with a modern furnishing offering short-term and long term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Newcastle Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing