We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food but expensive night out!”

Fat Buddha Asian Bar and Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Fat Buddha Asian Bar and Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #210 of 1,279 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Chinese, Korean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Finest Pan-Asian Cuisine Served, Seven Nights a Week, in a Two Floor Venue inside Newcastle's Historic Central Arcade at 55 Degrees North.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Food but expensive night out!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 7:45 as turned up a good 5/10 minutes before hand just too make sure our table was ready for the time we booked. However, We got drinks and waited until 8:30 until we were actually seated at our table (This was a Saturday night so maybe a little bit of a let off). I must admit the food was amazing and everything was cooked to a really high standard but in the end it was very very pricey. If there's a big party then you'll be looking at around £40-£50 with drinks each (There was 9 of us and with drinks came to around £300) Lovely night overall though and I will go back. The cocktail classes there are brilliant aswel, would highly recommend!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris_8295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    249
    144
    120
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Vibrant”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I booked a week in advance and asked for a centrally located table. When we (4) arrived we were taken almost immediately to a table at the very end, by the window. Sitting down, we asked for 4 beers before perusing the menus. The bar was just 2 metres away, but after ten minutes we had to ask the waiter when the drinks would arrive. He said "they're just coming" and leaned over to the barman, who then started to pull the beer pumps.

It was a Saturday night and the place was jumping: great atmosphere, but pretty noisy due to the hard furnishing. The meals came within a reasonable time and were fairly good. We all had the Chinese hot and sour soup for starters: I've had better many times. I then had Hong Kong sweet and sour chicken with noodles, and it was good, but not as good as one I had in Hong Kong.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 237enigma .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The food and cocktails were maxing and the Taff are very friendly once our order was taken everything ran smoothly though actually getting someone to take our order was a bit of a hassle as the staff weren't very alert as to when we were ready and on a few occasions were standing doing nothing or talking to other waiters/waitresses

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connell1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Although I have been here many times, i love the food and especially the desserts! Staff is amazing, excellent service, nice and inventive cocktails. Strongly recomended especially their sunday roast and banana split dessert!

Helpful?
Thank Irena-Areti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice food & drink, let down by poor service”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked a table as for a family celebration, the waitress took a long period of time to come and take our drinks order & failed to bring some water for the table until we asked her a third time.

We decided to take advantage of the "restaurant week" deal & ordered from that, along with two sharer starters. We asked that the sharer starters arrive before the restaurant week starters, so we could have them with our cocktails. Unfortunately all the starters arrived together.

The main courses arrived fairly quickly, but regrettably it took the staff a large amount of time to clear them away from the table, it also took a while for them to bring the bill, meaning our taxi was forced to wait for us outside.

Based on the service, I would not recommend or return to this restaurant given the fact that it was a quiet night & the service still wasn't great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thewithers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddha Asian Bar and Kitchen also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Fat Buddha Asian Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing