We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singhs Indian Restauraunt - CLOSED

Singhs Indian Restauraunt
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
North East England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had starters and a main course at Singhs using a voucher. The staff gave us a warm welcome and were attentive throughout, without being overbearing. The Punjabi food was excellent with so many different tastes. We both had salmon for a main course, and can thoroughly recommend it. We'll certainly return. As someone else has said on a review, the outside looks a bit like a 70s workingmens club. It does - but don't be put off because it's rather nice inside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JM-IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    24
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place for a great curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went to Singhs with my princess! The restaurant area was relaxing, welcoming and warm. The service was great and the food excellent. Had a private party going upstairs and the owner came over and told us about a wedding party and the music. We never even noticed the music upstairs it was not a problem, we were having a good conversation together. But it was nice for the owner to come over and tell us. Will be back for defo and again a great place..... Singh's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sexya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Look at the food, not the outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Looking at the outside of this ex working mens club which is now a restaurant is not inspiring, but please look past that and let the food and service do the talking.
The staff are excellent and having been 4 or 5 times now, I have yet to find something which I didn't really enjoy.
The food is not your normal run of the mill curry house food, there is also Punjabi and Keralan cuisine as well.
They even do a 2 course special for about £8.
Try it, don't look at the outside, but go in and try it. You WILL go again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great staff and the food is like being back in India. This restaurant offers dishes you don’t often find in the UK. We had 4 different starters and 4 different main meals and they all tasted so fresh and weren't heavy at all. Defiantly recommend the Kerala fish curry - amazing. We will be regulars at this restaurant! Thank you Singhs

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent-authentic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

On approach to the restaurant we thought the worst. The place is in an old social club in a rough part of Newcastle. BUT, the restaurant is great, lovely inside, you forget the location straight away and the service and food I'd excellent, really authentic and low priced. They do a couple of dishes such as a goat curry that needs to be ordered in advance too! Definitely returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singhs Indian Restauraunt also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing