We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Stag Do! just watch your deposits!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Inns Newcastle
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Stag Do! just watch your deposits!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed for one night and is wasn't as bad as all the reviews.

We paid £35 per room and had 3 in a room (less than £12 each!), The room was very very basic it had one double and one bunk over that. The room had a sink and an old TV although i wouldn't recommend using the sink for a wash as I think a lot of people use them as the en-suite facility.

The staff were fine and the hotel has a contract with a local taxi company with a ten seater mini bus to town costing only £20.

You do have to pay a £50 deposit for each room on arrival and when we checked out one of our deposits had gone missing so be careful with that (although we cant prove any wrong doing!!)

All in all a good cheap hotel ONLY suitable for same sex party groups who don't mind a bit of noise and some dodgy toilets! (if you don't fall in this category don't go!!!!)

Newcastle itself.......... Legendary!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    37
    22
    77
See reviews for
23
17
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This hotel is extremely cheap. For this we got comfy beds, warm rooms and a hot shower. Alright the toilets are a bit grim.

This is not a hotel to go to if you have children with you, and don't expect a quiet stay. It is a party hotel. If you want a cheap jolly up to Newcastle for a weekend away with friends go here. If you want a quit nights sleep, and to not see any naked men walking around, go somewhere else.

Staff were lovely, everyone in the place was in high spirits and there is a van in the car park that sells burgers when you get in from a night out, and bacon butties when you get up. Spot on.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani-Elizabeth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2010

this place advertises what it doesnt have!
caters for stag and hen parties.
half naked people walking around.
breakfast is a burger van in the car park

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Upon entering the room, we found that we were unable to fully open the door as it hit the corner of the bed.
The TV was bolted to the wall and there were bars on the windows.
We had a beautiful view of the room across from us outside the window.
There was some dubious looking stains on the bedsheets.
The sink was cracked and the water was dirty.
The staff were rude and disgusting.
I daren't venture into the showers but from what my partner told me, it's best I didn't.
The toilet was like stepping back into the medieval era. I was lucky not to catch the Plague.
Hardly a short walk from the city centre. Our taxi driver charged us £14 for the trip there.
Not even a hardened criminal would feel comfortable in this hell hole.

I'd rather shoot myself in the head than stay there ever again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Despite the smoking ban, the room smelt of smoke. The price is cheap - you get what you (don't) pay for. The room consists of bed, small TV and smokey smell. I used this as my rent in one house finished the day before my new tenancy started and needed somewhere cheap for a night. I would pay extra to get somewhere better next time. Truly terrible. There is no service. There is nothing. It's a (bad) collection of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel_bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Rooms were spotless , beds very comfortable , and the Receptionist was an absolute darling. Any one who moans about this place is missing the point. Its £9-50 FFS. Your not going to get en-suite, with all the trimmings.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArdonSilverstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I wish I'd read the reviews before I booked!

The Hotel's own website says that you're sure of :
"A peaceful and soothing night"
Things were peaceful ... maybe even soothing until 2am when the other clients: late teens/early 20s started to return from a night on the town. Shouting, doors banging and feet tramping along corridors went on until after 4.30 and we were woken soon after 8 am as the "fun" started again. To be fair all the youngsters we met were good humoured and friendly and we certainly didn't feel threatened ... just Old :-)

We were there working with a jazz band and the rest were booked in for the next night...... except they weren't...... 4 rooms had been booked through 2 separate agencies but the hotel knew nothing about them. Several other people turned up to find that rooms they'd booked on-line weren't available. We already knew that Newcastle hotels were full as we'd tried to find an alternative (at almost any price) for our 2nd night. In the end we decided to drive home and inflict our room on another pair from the band.

I don't know if this is part of a chain but I'll stick to Travelodges in future, they're clean, have notices reminding guests to be quiet after hours and they don't lose your booking.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
3.3 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#54 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
721 reviews
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,094 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Newcastle

Property: Metro Inns Newcastle
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3TY, England (Formerly "Formule 1")
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Metro Inns Newcastle 1*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Metro Inns Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing