We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Keelman's Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$72
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$61
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$74
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$95
$79
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$92
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vermont Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$79
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$94
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
71
77
40
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
77
40
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig lamphadrian's wall walkmicro brewerycountry parkseparate buildingnice place to stayplenty of hot watercomfortable roomthree nightscomfortable stayone night stayaccommodationwallsendtynenewcastletlcbath
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 211 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have stayed here several times now (once for work but otherwise as a stopping off point on the way North/South). A genuine welcome, friendly and relaxing atmosphere, good food and great beer. The room was well maintained, clean and comfortable. We know the original owners who converted it from a derelict pumping station to a brewery, pub and B & B but have always paid the published rate and stay/eat/drink here simply because we like it and think it is great value - we paid £79.40 for the double room and full English breakfast. We have tried two other chain hotels in the area but The Keelman is both better and cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here two nights for work. Very clean and comfortable room and quiet - just what you need when you want a good night's sleep. I ate in the linked pub and it was fine. Breakfast was good - high-quality ingedients. I would certainly stay here again if I needed accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: Upsatirs - less disturbance from people coming and going.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The setting is lovely, the rooms are ok and clean, the staff are fantastic. The food is shockingly average, which is surprising considering the price. I was here for two and half weeks (work) and had two good meals. Fish and chips was good, steak and ale pie was ale gravy with a hint of beef, mixed grill is worth avoiding. Curry tastes like a supermarket jar, zapped in the microwave. Apple pie the same, I've cream melting rapidly on the plate from the microwave.
My biggest disappointment we're the steaks. I am a massive steak fan. If a cook can not do a steak other than well done don't give me options !!! Three steaks, one success. Unfortunately the 2nd one. My last meal here is over done, on a cold plate , with a laughable side salad hiding under my cheap fries.
Like I say though, the staff are great and could not be more friendly. Shame. Good for a pint, find somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were in a separate single-storey building, so we were away from the pub and we had nobody on top of us. Excellent: it was extremely quiet. The rooms were large and well furnished, the bathroom was good. BUT... NO WiFi in the rooms, which is a pity. The food was very long to come to the table. It was all right but nothing special. Breakfast is not included. We had continental but it was very good and varied, much more than what you get on the continent i.e. fruit, yoghurt, cereals, everything you need but eggs, of course. We were walking the Hadrian's Wall path and it is well situated, a minute away from the path.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask to be the single-storey building in annex
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cham0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice big rooms in quiet surrounding in Tyne Riverside Park. Good matresses, great food in the Keelman's Inn next door and with at least six diffrent types of beer we would have liked to stay one more night. But beware: the Keelman's "Blackout" has 11%.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotterin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews