We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keelman's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Keelman's Lodge
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

my husband and i stayed at the keelman in april this year and found our 2 nights stay very satifactory. the food was excellent the staff were really freindly. the room was imaculate and just what you need when staying away from home. it was that good we and 6 other of our freinds are staying again, and also recommending it to anyone i know going up north, Also any camra members would love the keelman for there real ale, brewed at the big lamp brewery. i promise you wont be disappointed with the keelman.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    64
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
36
60
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

came across this pub /restaurant/ hotel and brewery last year whilst cycling, my brother and i had a spot of lunch and a pint of their own brewed beer and so decided last saturday to try it again. i had a burger and chips with side salad, one of the best burgers i've ever had, my daughter had a trio of fish cakes and she raved about them, great setting right next to the river good food and lovely tasting ales, all in all a very good place to drop into if your on a drive out for the day

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've never stayed here, but I've been for a few lunches. The staff are all nice and friendly, and they serve good beer (including Prince Bishop) for a fair price. Inside it is very pleasant, with a lovely big conservatory if you want to dine in there. There are lots of tables outside in a very large area, which includes a playground for kids.

However, if you want a good meal, forget it. The menu has a decent selection, but the quality of the food is very poor. There were 3 of us there recently and we all had different meals. I had a trio of fishcakes with (unnecessary) potato wedges and a dried up salad. The fishcakes had a very thick coating of breadcrumbs, and seemed to have been deep fried. My son had a stottie cake with beef which was covered (and spoilt) with loads of "gravy". The 3rd meal was scampi with poor quality chips.

I would only return for a couple of pints, but definitely no more food. It's a pity, because the food is it's only failing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 237enigma .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A lovely clean hotel room with all the basics. While on the same site the rooms are in a separate building to the Big Lamp Brewery which means that you can get some sleep even when the Brewery is busy. Meals can eaten at the Big Lamp Brewery which is a very popular pub and eating house. The food and ales were very good and the staff very helpful. It is also right on the Hadrian's Wall route.

Room Tip: There are two floors so if stairs are an issue book the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We tried eating here a few years back and found it less then average. We decided to give it another go a couple of days ago and once again we were very disappointed. I had steak and ale pie which was average at best, mashed potatoes totally bland tasted like they had not included any butter, cream or seasoning. Also it was served in little round balls like I used to get at school. Veg was over cooked and again no seasoning. In fact thinking about it the whole thing was like a poor school dinner. I really think this chef does not care about the standard of his/her food. This is a real shame as it’s a really nice pub and has massive potential, but is sadly not living up to that potential.

If you are in the area and would like a nice pub meal I’d recommend The Original Masons in Walbottle. We have been on many occasions and always found the food to be lovely. And no before you ask I don’t work there!

On a brighter note, it is a really nice place to enjoy a real ale on a sunny day in the beer garden!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanjackson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lovely spot along the Hadrian's Wall trail. Nice sized room with a tub in the bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Everyone of the staff that we interacted with were professional and cheerful. The dining room provided a great dinner. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were made of real eggs, a much appreciated first for us in the UK. The bonus of staying here is that there is a brewery on premises! We met several people in the bar who had travelled a distance to come for a weekly dinner at the inn.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Room fine bed fairly comfy. Basic tea facilities. No iron. No phone. No room service. Breakfast expensive, we had pot of tea 4 slices of toast and 2 small poached eggs. This cost £13.85. On the positive side the meals and service were good and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlewhitepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.6 mi away
Ryton Country  House
Ryton Country House
#51 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.4 mi away
East Byermoor Guest House
East Byermoor Guest House
#4 of 24 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keelman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keelman's Lodge

Property: The Keelman's Lodge
Address: Grange Road | Newburn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 8NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keelman's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keelman’s Lodge and Salmon Cottage are purpose-built hotel accommodation lodges, which stand in the grounds of The Big Lamp Brewery and Keelman pub on the edge of the Tyne Riverside Country Park.The Keelman is only 5 miles from Newcastle and 3 miles from the Metro Centre. Being easily accessible by both public and private transport and 10 minutes from Newcastle Airport, this is the ideal location for a holiday break, or as a stop off point for those travelling Hadrian’s Wall.The Two Lodges, the Keelman Pub and the Big Lamp Brewery blend contemporary and traditional style providing a stimulating and comfortable ambiance.Rated four-stars by Quality In Tourism and Visit England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keelman`s Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing