We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel perfectly situated near main rail station. Perfect if going to events at the Metro Gateshead Arena or conferencing in Newcastle. Beware we were on 7th floor and kept awake two nights out of our 4 night stay with party goers. Security deals with any excess noise promptly. Restaurant meal not particularly good value but bar menu was okay, breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeryholmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    756
    306
    86
    97
See reviews for
288
548
80
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Typical Jurys location - edge of City centre in a slightly rough neighbourhood. Popular with hen/stag parties so best avoided on a Saturday night. Room was poorly cleaned each day (3) that we were there and they never left enough towels. In fairness, the management are aware of the noise problem and patrolled the corridors from time to time but the sound insulation between rooms is poor so they were fighting a losing battle.

Room Tip: Ask for something quiet and away from groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarringtonWealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great hotel and location but upon arrival our hen party were greeted by being told we needed to pay a further £100 bond in order to stay at the hotel. Nothing was stipulated in the email nor via phone before we arrived: we were told to pay this on the day!

This was really awkward as some people didn't being enough money etc and the poor hen had to have her afternoon spoiled by this as they hotel refused to let us in without paying the bond, even though we'd paid a deposit months ago and paid for the rooms in full.

The hotel need to address this issue to resolve the embarrassment of future guests having to pay a vast amount of money.

They also don't tell you that the £100 will be paid back into your account 5 days after using a credit card or 14 days after using a direct debit - disgusting!

We paid for 8 rooms and one was an extra. In the morning we weren't told that one room didn't have bed and breakfast so one room couldn't have breakfast! Just what you want to hear after a night out and having had to pay all that money!

On a positive: shower great, bed very comfy and great location - 10 mins walk from train station.

Would stay again but they need to sort out the £100 bond on the day or stipulate it BEFORE people pay for the room etc.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

6 of us stayed here for one night, two friends in each room. Two friends checked in first and were asked for a £100 bond incase of damages as we were part of a group. Then I checked in later myself with another friend - we were not asked for a bond. We only found out about the bond when my friend who checked in first asked me about it.

We went to reception to ask what the bond was all about and reception said that they charged it as we were part of a group booking and it was hotel policy to charge this for each room. I said that I hadn't been charged and the only reason it was a group booking was that it was easier for me to do this rather than each friend make a booking. We felt a bit insulted that we had been compared as a group - and at that exact moment, a bus full of women on a girly holiday came through the door. I made a point that we had no wish to be compared as a group.

So, with regards to the bond, I said that they couldn't charge one room and not the other and I wouldn't be paying it. Nor would the 3rd set of friends who would check in later.

It was later sorted with Kerry and the manager and that the £100 taken from the 1st set of friends would be refunded within a couple of days back on their card.

The room itself was great, massive bed and on the top floor. Although my friends told me they were on the 5th floor and heard arguments and shouting at 5am in the morning - most unacceptable. I made this known upon checking out.

The hotel is within walking distance of Metro Arena, train station and Centre For Life. Breakfast seemed too expensive at £10 each, so we didn't bother.

I will stay here again if the hotel reviews its bond policy in view of the above. Just because one friend makes a booking on behalf of their friends, it does not make them a group that seems likely to cause trouble!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VodkaQueenNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

As part of a coach tour we stayed in this hotel for four nights DBB first nights dinner was good with scampy and chips ,second nights was mince and dough balls two large dough balls and a spoonful of mince dough balls were solid and heavy third night was fish and chips all the portions of fish were exactly the same pointing to frozen potions I decided to bail out and find somewhere else to eat for the rest of the holiday not a good indication for a 3 star hotel, however the breakfasts were buffet style and excellent no complaints here, the rooms were the cleanest I have experienced (Clinical even) and as a technical rep. for 30 years I have stayed in countless establishments throughout the UK but these rooms were spotless, one other small gripe the white wine was not sufficiently chilled and with prices around £20 not a good show.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johhnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Newcastle.

Its disappointing to read you did not enjoy your evening meals during your stay although I would assure you that your experience does not reflect our usual high standard of service, we cater regularly for tour and coach parties staying in the hotel and regularly receive very positive feedback from them.

I have passed on your comments regarding your room cleanliness to our housekeeping team who are grateful for the very positive feedback.

Kind regards

Ann Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

When I booked over the phone, they promised me a confirmation email straight away. I didn't receive it until 2 days later when I had already called the hotel 3 times. Although I had spelled my name 3 times, each time to a different person, they still couldn't write it. It took an email from me with my name to make them realise.
I stayed at the Jurys Inn Newcastle for 4 nights, breakfast included. When I arrived I was immediately helped by the receptionist. She handled the check in quickly and professionally, but it was a bit strange to have to pay for the whole stay upon arrival.
When I arrived in my room I was delighted. They had given me a room with one double bed and one single bed! For one person staying in the room, that meant heaven!! Everything looked great: a lot of space, comfortable beds, double glazing, flat screen tv, tea making facilities, clean bathroom with bath and shower, iron and iron board.
It didn't take long for me to settle and when I wanted to drink a cup of tea, I noticed the cups (all 3) and spoons were dirty (one spoon still had some yoghurt remains). I went down to ask the reception to sort it out and they answered they'd do it immediately. They didn't, I had to wait until 3 PM the next day, for the cleaning lady to disturb me during a confcall. When I asked her for new clean cups, she just took them to the wash-basin in my bathroom. To me that's totally unacceptable! She must have done it very quick because it wasn't done properly. During my 4-night stay I never had 3 totally clean cups and spoons! This is a detail to improve.
Breakfast was nice: the buffet had everything, cold and hot. The staff should just be careful that when a guest leaves the table to get something, they don't start to clean the table and take away everything. My personal belongings indicated that I was going to return to finish my coffee.
Several times I had lunch and dinner at the hotel and I must say that the food is delicious. Only the staff in the restaurant could be friendlier, but I understand it's hard work at busy times. The bar was good: friendly staff, good food.
The hotel should offer WIFI for free!!
So my conclusion is that the hotel has a good balance value/ money, but they should improve on the things I listed to make the stay completely comfortable and nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The reception staff were very helpful; had booked with expedia for a ridiculously low rate, some booking confusion (no changes etc) and they solved all the issues, a refreshing relief... I wont pinpoint the smile comment, though read some of the other reviews....

Room was ample in space and cleanliness, would definitely recommend for visitors to Newcastle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Newcastle. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed on your comments regarding our reception team to our Front Office manager who will take steps to ensure our normal standards of service are being maintained.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Ann Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle
Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing