We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly average in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
chester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Stunningly average in all respects”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A good or bad stay leaves you with an abiding memory of somewhere. This hotel doesn't. It's like a Maccy d's burger. You'll consume it without much relish and with little rememberance and it'll be forgotten and gone in a day or two.

Which if you're a business traveller is a good thing. I'd have hated this place if I'd been with the girlfriend. The only two memories I have ar that there's sod all parking for your car and it was raining heavily when I arrived so it was a three hundred yard jog in the rain and the Scottish waiter discussing the customers in an extremely loud voice with the chef.

I would tell you more but I've forgotten it already...........................

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisher39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    113
    39
    21
    11
See reviews for
28
51
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netwon Mearns, Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

after being let down by another hotel last minute, we sourced this little gem up Osbourne Road in lively Jesmond.

Place is clean and tidy, decor is fine if a little 90s in some aspects and we had a room on top floor (33), which was ok for our needs, even though the double bed was a postage stamp.

Shower was good in the morning, nice pressure, breakfast was very nice, good cooked portion and the staff really helpful, even loaned me an ironing board and iron as my clothes were crushed in back on way down.

Jesmond area is great, we had a nice meal locally and drinks before going to metro arena and a taxi was easy to get on Osbourne Road and same to get home when returning after being out 'up the toon'.

Worth a visit, would be better if the bed was a tad bigger, but served its purpose.

Room Tip: top floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcdm1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Booked for 2 nights to meet up with grandson and friends from university. It just happened to be our 48th wedding anniversary, and they put us in the bridal suite . . .nice surprising touch. Ok, creaky floorboards, but it is an older property . . .very comfortable bed. The breakfast was pretty good, with plenty of fruit etc.. The only negative is that there is limited parking, and if one has a mobility problem, it can be awkward finding a space, however we shall definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Perfect location for GNR. Rooms were clean and perfectly adequate for a good nights sleep prior to the race.
Jesmond was lovely, although we couldn't get a table anywhere for an evening meal as first day back for students and evening of GNR run (make sure you book a table in advance!).
Lovely receptionist saved us from a Tesco metro sandwich and recommended a little Italian restaurant off the main stretch who would squeeze us in and they did, we had a really nice meal.
Good nights sleep (top floor) in comfy bed, decent shower and then then lots of choice for breakfast. Lovely lady on reception even gave me her hair bobble after forgetting mine and panicking for the race. Gent serving breakfast was really friendly too. Staff an absolute asset here. We will be back next year - thank you.

Room Tip: Can't compare to other rooms, but very happy on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was booked a few days beforehand. It turned out to be a good choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Previous guests have commented that it is a little tired. This did not trouble me. I thought it was a reasonable standard. I would certainly stay again. A typical Best Western hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamois_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff in a great position on Osborne Rd. Decor is a little tired but clean and tidy. Comfortable rooms with a good shower. Although it's situated in a lively area, it was very quiet within the hotel room for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit on offer. Walking distance from some good pubs, bars, and Pizza Express is 5 mins walk away. Only down point is I had a couple of drinks in the bar and the glasses were very dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Really nice hotel, very friendly staff, excellent location, lovely breakfast.
We stopped Saturday Aug 11th after seeing England test match near Durham.
Lots of bars and restaurants close by, not to far from the city centre

Room Tip: A nice hotel , some excellent bars and restaurants close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOwls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#45 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Kent Hotel

Property: Best Western New Kent Hotel
Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing