We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room was poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Typical 3 star hotel - and to be fair my only stay here. My room was situated next to the main entrance of the first floor - so suffered from constand fire doors opening and closing. The room itself was a single and had a view of the fire escape and a wall - so very pokey. The bathroom was nicely furnished - and had a good shower. The bed seemed quite old and was overly firm - not through the springs but the base.

Breakfast was fine - with a reasonable selection with attentive staff.

Very limited and difficult parking.

It would not be my first choice of hotels in Newcastle - but for a single night was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 262 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

Great hotel, clean, pity about check in and check out not been friendly. Otherwise a very good. Breakfast was of the useral standard for this type of hotel. Wireless network sometimes worked. Location great.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidmowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed in the New Kent hotel in April for the 1 night.
When I arrived I found the smallish car park to be full, and so had to park a very short walk away on the main road. Check in was fine, and I found my room on the top floor. The room was a little cramped, but for 1 nights stay fine. I had a good veiw of the local park and church, and whilst it was smallish, it was light and airy.
I did eat in the bar and was could eat from the bar or restaurant menu. The food was fine and served without too much delay. During my visit I was the only person using the bar and anly a few people were seated in the restaurant.
Just a few hundred yards down the road are a collection of pubs and other places to dine, should you want an alternative to the fare offered by the hotel.
Breakfast was fine and checkout quick and accurate.
If I am in the area again I would consider another night at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors for free Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halle1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel is part of the Great Western Chain and my expectations were not high but the hotel more than met my expectations. There is free wi-fi, the rooms were well equipped although the decor is dated.
The breakfast seemed a little chaotic as it is all made to order rather than a hot buffet and as everyone seemed to come for breakfast at the same time it took longer than I would expect to get served.
The location is great, near the Metro, local shops and restaurants and it was great to be somewhere more residential than in the city centre for a change.
If I needed to be in this area again for work I would stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FacilitatorChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

i stayed here with a friend in march as we came too see justin bieber in concert, we loved our stay and ouldnt ask for any thin more the room was really clean i even moved the bed to check and it was spotless, the staff where lovely and helped us find places etc, i would defo stay again and for longer..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasha0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I was in Newcastle for a university seminar and initially found this place to be a good match between price, location and comfort necessities. However, I'm afraid the hotel is really only an option if you can't spend more and need to be in the area.
As you can see from the pictures, the place is in dire need for renovation. I'm willing to accept some run-down-ness at a cheaper place, but wallpaper coming off the wall is not in this catalogue. As expected, the rooms are tiny, but do have all that's required to fit one's belongings.
Staff was helpful most of the time, however they failed to inform me that my payment through Orbitz had not arrived even though I asked whether everything with my reservation was fine at the beginning. Upon my departure, the receptionist wouldn't let me go without paying a second time, although he promised to check back with management so I'd get back one of the two amounts. Needless to say, this didn't happen, so I needed to go through Orbitz' customer service to receive the partial refund. I don't know whose fault this was originally, but I fully expected the inquiry on the hotel's side so I wouldn't have to spend half an hour on the phone.

I didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't tell much about this aspect. The area itself is okay, with supermarkets, banks and a Starbucks close by; the many pubs with their usual Saturday evening client base did not bother me and couldn't be heard from the room.

The tv did not work (I'm not a big TV person, so I didn't bother with asking for a replacement or repair, I just checked at the beginning). One plus aspect I don't wanna leave out: There was free and reliable wi-fi.

All in all, this is certainly not a delight, but might be worth it if you're on a tight budget and don't expect comfort levels above a good hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guybrushtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed for just one night visiting our student daughter who lives in Jesmond. Our room looked as if it had been recently refurbished and the bathroom was clean and spacious.Breakfast was of good quality and plenty of choice. It's convenient for shops, restaurants and the metro in Jesmond but if you like walking it's not far to the city centre. When we visis her again we would definitely use the same hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#43 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#34 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Kent Hotel

Address: 127 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $56 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western New Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing