We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food”
Review of Ahad Tandoori

Ahad Tandoori
Ranked #325 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very poor food”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times in the past and whilst not mind blowing, was fine.
On Saturday, girlfriend and I booked fortunately as the place was very busy.
Shared a starter, which was fine, but our two main courses were very poor.
The lamb in the bhuna was as tough as boots, and the meat in my sizzling dish was equally tough and dry. Normally tandoori chicken is cooked quickly and remains moist, not so.
Will go into town next time, very disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    36
    22
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We recently visited Ahad with a couple of friends and looked forward to the meal. The men ordered two different chicken dishes and my friend and I ordered lamb. Sadly, my husband suffered severe vomitting and diarrhoea . My friend's husband diarrhoea and stomach upset. Both unwell for almost 4 days. We wondered whether it was the chicken as my friend and I were fine.This was reported to the restaurant, who to their credit, investigated and got back to us apologising for our experience but did not think it was their chicken. We were convinced as my husband and friend were fine before they ate the chicken
On the whole staff and service good, but we were disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chandraSva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A group of 6 visited on Saturday night. Good service, waited a while for starters but then the timings were good. Nice food, nice wine, good portions and friendly staff. Would go again.

Helpful?
Thank LandD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always amazing!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We eat in here, get take away and use the restaurant at least twice a month.

The food is always great, the service is great and the atmosphere is lovely. I like the pasanda and the chicken tikka malai and my husband loves the lamb bhuna, the shaslik kebab and many others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reliable indian”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Often visit this restaurant or order takeaway from Ahad with friends. Cannot fault it. Best indian in Gosforth.

Helpful?
Thank leeknan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahad Tandoori also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Ahad Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing