We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!!”
Review of Cafe Spice

Cafe Spice
Ranked #309 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Went on a weekday with the family and surprisingly it was busy early on! Because they have a happy hour for £8.95! Between 5-7pm!! We were seated very efficiently in a nice little al cove, our drinks were served promptly but the food was a bit delayed, but was absolutely delicious, the lamb South Indian garlic is the best curry ever a bit hot but it is the gorgeous! I will definitely be returning there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S14tul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JahirU, Owner at Cafe Spice, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi s14tul
Thank you for the lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you more often. We are always very busy with the takeaway orders, therefore it can slow us down sometime.
But we are always trying to find ways of improving our service and getting food out on time is one of them..

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is great but quality of service depends on who is serving you”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As a customer of around 5 years I have noticed that the quality of the food is consistent and the service is generally really good. However, there is a fairly new male member of staff who wears glasses and is in his 50s who is full of self importance and at times very rude!! It's a shame really as its a good quality restaurant and everybody else that works in there is lovely...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JahirU, Owner at Cafe Spice, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear customer

Firstly excuse the late reply, we sorry to hear that you have had a bad experiance with one of our staff at Cafe Spice heaton. we would like to assure you that i have had a word with this individual and he has been made aware of this reveiw, also we would like to thank for your feedback which we value greatly.
We are pleased to hear that you have been a loyal customer for 5 years and that our food has always been consistent.
Please could you email me your contact details at cafespiceheaton@outlook.com, in order for me to further express my apologies and to deal with any issue mentioned. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Food excellent, staff were pleasant but not particularly attentive. Would recommend. Early eaters menu between 5pm and 7pm every day looks exceptional value

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Reasonable not outstanding”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is an OK restaurant with tasty food although the meat content isn’t great, perhaps this is why the prices are quite reasonable. They could do with understanding what a pint actually is as each one we ordered didn’t quite measure up.

The menu is considerable but there is nothing outstanding to say. Staff were pleasant and but not especially attentive.

I would revisit but only for a quick mid week meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxerdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I go here quite often for sit-down meals but mainly order as a takeaway. I also visit the Bengal Curry Centre just down from here for takeaway. I alternate the two because, quite frankly, you cannot get any better for Indian food. Cafe Spice operate without an alcohol licence so you can take your own bottle(s), and enjoy your night without paying the cost for in-house drinks. Whenever I go here for a sit-down meal, the service is fast, friendly and the value is good. I am reluctant to try other Indians as Cafe Spice, Bengal Curry Centre and Khans are the best I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark26Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Spice also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing