We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the reviews, but disappointed”
Review of Cafe Spice

Cafe Spice
Ranked #309 of 1,265 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Read the reviews, but disappointed”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I use Tripadvisor regularly and read a number of reviews, before trying the take out option. There was an extensive menu to choose from, and we ordered 2 main courses, one rice and some extras, naan's etc..There was plenty but I thought the quality poor, my husband ordered the chicken tikka masala and I don't think I will ever see that colour of sauce on any paint swatch, it was bright red, and comletely sauce, no hint of any veg at all. just chunks of chicken in absolutely bright red sauce. I chose a chicken dish with almonds and cashews and it tasted nutty, which is what I expected, but again buried in sauce. If plenty is what you are after then you will not be disappointed as there was, I was expecting quality so did not feel that I got what I thought I would, Good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleym1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good service! Amazing food with great quality and a great price! Have already reccomended it to friends and family!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutchangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great local”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Consistently good. Great service, good quality food and excellent value. Highly recommended local restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spice up Your Life”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went for an unplanned meal and was found a table straight away even though it was busy. The food is excellent, one of the best indian menus I have tasted. The staff are very friendly and the service good, not too rushed. Very good value for money and what isn't eaten can be taken home. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys good flavoured food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willden-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

As a Birthday treat my wife asked me where I would like to go for a meal. After deliberating for a while I decided to choose Cafe Spice as its local to our Benton home and we hadn't been for at least a couple of years.
We booked our table for 8.30 and on arrival the restaurant was busy but not packed. We got shown to lour table within minutes and from then on the experience was simply 1st class. Popadoms were nice and crispy, pickle tray fresh, starters fantastic and main meals simply exquisite. Even the coffee we finished with was hot and strong.
Could not fault anything about the whole night, well worth a visit to this little jewel in the crown on Chillingham Rd.

Helpful?
Thank parsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Spice also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing