We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #523 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visit this place all the time; takeaways, couple meals, with friends and family. It is an excellent meal every time with polite and efficient staff. It occasionally puts on a Thali night which is apparently well worth attending - we haven't but from the usual standard of food I am prepared to believe it. They are licensed as well so you can buy a beer. If you like a spicy curry the Naga is well worth it. My wife swears by the lamb tandoori which I've always found to be really tender and tasty when picking over her left-overs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lightlyTravelledGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Areally enticing menu from this takeaway/restaurant. We have had numerous take aways before, always of good value so decided we'd trry the restuarant.

Somewhat crowded regarding tables, its a small space. However the ffood quality was superb and very well presented. Portions just the right size. Price good and really there are a whole variety of dishes I'd love to work my way through.

Only downside really was an ovezealous waiter who was very keen on whipping any plates away as soon as he thought we had finished.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Proper Indian restaurant at Forest Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We've always had very good meals here, either takeaway or at the restaurant itself. We love their Lamb Tikka Masala but we tend to try a new dish every time and they're all very well prepared and cooked. Even their poppadom, raita and sambal are so much better than other Indian restaurants we've tried which goes to show the commitment to provide quality food at reasonable prices. The service is also impeccable and doesn't skimp on the place's decor, using proper table cloth and cutlery which adds to the overall experience and ambience. This is a must-try place for those who love Indian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank krishnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We have dined here several times aswell as had takeaway meals from here and not once have we had any complaints about anything. Friendly and polite staff. Tasty quality food. Will defo return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toobster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“This place is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a small restaurant in a small corner or Forest Hall (Newcastle NE12).

The food and service is excellent and is well worth a visit.

It may not be the most elegant in terms of location and the decor is simple but tasteful. The quality of the food more than makes up for this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing