We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth waiting for.”
Review of Quay Ingredient

Quay Ingredient
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After hearing a number of good things about this place, finally found it quiet enough go in.

We had three seperate breakfast dishes: the full english, bacon and beans and the eggs benedict.

My breakfast was excellent, well cooked and with exceptionally good bacon. The staff were happy to swap out the mushrooms for beans as well, which some places wont.

The eggs benedict that my friend had, was excellent also - really well made sauce and well cooked eggs.

Worth a visit if you can get in, just sadly very small and not easy too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenBailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    173
    57
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated in previous reviews”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place didn't live up to the good reviews it has received. My husband & I both had Croque Madame which was just basic quality white bread with a tiny amount of cheese & ham & a total absence of bechamel sauce (I key ingredient of a Croque Madame). Coffee was ok though fairly ordinary & the blueberry muffin was obviously a supermarket-bought one. The chocolate brownie had been made on-site that morning but I have to say was extremely dry. So all in all, don't think we'll be rushing back there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfasts. What a find thanks to Tripadvisor

very accommodating did or 2 kids too.

Food lovely and staff really helpful

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Breakfasts”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Staying in a chain hotel whilst in Newcastle for the Great North Run, so checked out Best Breakfasts in Newcastle, they are here, be it full English or the pancakes. Small but perfectly formed and the staff are really helpful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidM15658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Found this little gem”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Found this that cafe thanks toTrip Advisor. It is small so not lots of space but the breakfast was outstanding. We had a family get together for my sons 18th birthday. What a fab start to the day. The food was beautifully presented and wonderful and fresh. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Ingredient also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Ingredient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing