We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay Ingredient

Quay Ingredient
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Food excellent, good location n good service. The place is small so you may have to wait a while- we were lucky - we got straight in. The flapjack is gorgeous

Helpful?
Thank pully1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    158
    56
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“excellent food, fast friendly service, fills up fast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

we wanted somewhere to have a late breakfast/brunch with family before heading off; Trip Advsor again delivered the goods by warmly recommending Quay Ingredient, on the Newcastle Quayside. Excellent food, some local/regional (kippers, black pudding, 'stotties', etc); we had veggie 'full English', eggs florentine, and eggs Montreal (with smoked salmon); with juice and coffee/tea, came to a little under £8 per head - so this is no 'greasy spoon', but it's still good value. Service is also fast and very friendly. Only drawback: it's small and very popular, so, while we got a table at once (at 10.15), some later arrivals had to wait or look elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alanlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I get my sausage sandwhich there every Sunday morning before work and it's the best sausage sandwhich in town. Fresh locally sourced ingredients a must for a really nice breakfast. Owned by a lovely couple as well, win win

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonta7rug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton-Le-Fylde
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Did what it said on the box"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great restaurant-visited on both Saturday and Sinday for breakfast when stayed in Newcastle-having read previous reviews on Trip Advsior!

Food was amazing-and a warm welcome given by the owners.

Tried the Eggs Benedict and The Breakfast Trio Stottie-both of which where beautifully presented and very tasty!

Great freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee too-and loved the little gingerbread man complimentary with all hot drinks!

Give it a try-you wont be dissapointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loverly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Thanks so much. My partner is encouraging me to write reviews of where we go-he does all of the time-me I never have so am a 'first time caller' ha! The breakfasts are great and you deserve your good ratings, The coffee is wonderful and eggs to match no matter how we have them. No need to cook breakfast at the weekend 10 out of 10

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kellyor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Ingredient also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Ingredient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing