We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Siam

The Old Siam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tarleton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Beyond the unassuming exterior lies a truly authentic Thai restaurant.
Attentive and efficient service never failed to deliver.
Well prepared delicious food ensured a most enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    182
    49
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Has been a while since we have been here and remember writing a very nice review then however hadn't been on the Newcastle Quayside through the day for some time and after a couple of beers in a bar very nearby ended up having the Lunch time special, although obviously the fare is limited in comparison to the normal a l a carte menu what we had was plentiful well presented and tasted delicious all in nice surroundings by a very friendly and helpful staff well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, unsuspecting surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

From the outside it looks like a greasy spoon cafe but inside is a service of delicious food at great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We visited here following the good reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The service was excellent and the food was very nice. We got set menu B so we could try a few different dishes and every course was delicious. The restaurant was very small but that just made it feel more cosy and traditional. The only reason I didn't give this restaurant a 5 ratings is because I have had better thai food in other restaurants although none of them are in Newcastle so this is by far the best thai restaurant in the city. Worth a visit and good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank OvoloKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food - great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The customer service is fantastic in this delightful little restaurant. Fabulous location and good food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodGloriousFood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing